Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 08:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

quick GFCI question


Hey guys, Ive been reading around here for a bit as we just got into a new house. its an old one, built in 29. I am to the drywall phase of a complete bathroom tearout, and it just so happens the vanity wall that I have open backs up to the master bedroom. The master has only 2 outlets, one of which is useless as it is next to the door. I would like to add a third outlet for the TV

I'd like to add this outlet onto the bathroom circuit. The issue I have is the bathroom circuit is not grounded, but will be upgraded to a gfci/switch combo (labeled no equipment ground) Would it be safe/legal to add a 3 prong 15amp outlet to this circuit after the gfci, and simply label that outlet no equipment ground as well?

I've read some articles where people ground to the water pipes in the bathroom, but that seems completely incorrect in case someone removes any of that pipe and breaks the ground connection

Thanks, let me know if more information would help answer the question
Ryan

Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:10 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

quick GFCI question


The bathroom circuit can not feed any room but the bathroom, or bathrooms.
You can not extend an ungrounded 2 wire circuit even if you have gfci protection

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:13 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The bathroom circuit can not feed any room but the bathroom, or bathrooms.
You can not extend an ungrounded 2 wire circuit even if you have gfci protection
got it, so our best bet is extend the current master bedroom circuit? It is grounded properly and has 3 outlets on the circuit currently
Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:20 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Strecker25 View Post
got it, so our best bet is extend the current master bedroom circuit? It is grounded properly and has 3 outlets on the circuit currently
That would be the best thing.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:25 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Appreciated, its on the second floor with a full attic above.

Thanks!
Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:32 AM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

quick GFCI question


Since you have a guttted bathroom, why not replace that ungrounded circuit. If this work is permitted the inspector should required it be replaced.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:38 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Yeah we are going to have that done, there is a clear path to the basement through the adjacent attic stairs so the bathroom will be placed on its own circuit. Currently its wired in with the living room....old houses.
Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


keep inmind that by code, bathrroms must be on their own dedicated curcuit (as you already know) and that they must be 20 amp curcuits with 12 gauge wire. As for the bedrooms, they must, by code (atleast in my area) be on an Arc Fault Curcuit Interuptor.

Good luck with your project!
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:52 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
keep inmind that by code, bathrroms must be on their own dedicated curcuit (as you already know) and that they must be 20 amp curcuits with 12 gauge wire. As for the bedrooms, they must, by code (atleast in my area) be on an Arc Fault Curcuit Interuptor.

Good luck with your project!
Thanks everyone. With the walls open we are doing it the right way. A friend and licensed electrician will be over this weekend.
Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:18 PM   #10
Thread killer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 10
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
keep inmind that by code, bathrroms must be on their own dedicated curcuit (as you already know) and that they must be 20 amp curcuits with 12 gauge wire. As for the bedrooms, they must, by code (atleast in my area) be on an Arc Fault Curcuit Interuptor.

Good luck with your project!
I thought bathrooms just needed a dedicated circuit for a receptacle and the lights could be on a general lighting circuit shared with other rooms?
__________________
You can have it good, fast or cheap. Pick two.
Canucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:37 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Canucker View Post
I thought bathrooms just needed a dedicated circuit for a receptacle and the lights could be on a general lighting circuit shared with other rooms?
You have 2 options...well actually 3

1) Just the bathroom GFI on a 20A circuit
1b) Multiple bathroom receptacles on the same 20A circuit, but nothing else

2) An entire individual bathroom on one 20A circuit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 08:49 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick GFCI question


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You have 2 options...well actually 3

1) Just the bathroom GFI on a 20A circuit
1b) Multiple bathroom receptacles on the same 20A circuit, but nothing else

2) An entire individual bathroom on one 20A circuit.
I believe we are going to pull new wire and put both bathrooms on a 20a since the powder room is ungrounded as well

Strecker25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New here! Quick question. tmichelsons Building & Construction 5 06-15-2011 12:18 AM
GFCI Panel Conduit Question passmaster16 Electrical 1 06-08-2011 10:28 PM
GFCI Conduit question llenod Electrical 3 04-06-2011 12:09 PM
Question re GFCI Replacement JPShinn Electrical 11 01-03-2011 12:34 PM
GFCI Question Steve in CT Electrical 8 12-07-2010 03:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.