Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 07:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


I currently have a 3 gang box with 3 single pole switches, 2 blacks on this switch i want to add a 3way. in the box (not hooked up is the 3 way wire) leaving me with a switch (2 blacks) and a 3way wire. a black, a white and brown.

Is there a way i can hook up a 3 way from a single pole power only, if that makes sense.

The way i have it now, it will not turn off unless they both are off.
I have (from the old 2 blacks from switch)black to black screw, Black from switch to lower brass screw as 1 travler in white. and brown to brown on the other 3 way switch.

thanks in advance.
chip

chipraynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Three way switches are paired. For them to work you require 2 travelers between them. A single pole and a 3 way doesn't offer that capability.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


sorry i have the 2, 3 way switches and wires.

from the box is a 3way switch and wire, it currently is from a single 2 black connection.

I guess my question is can i go from a single pole of power to a 3way.

as in 2 hots to a 3way
chipraynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Two wires, the tavelers go from switch to switch. Then one hot wire goes to one switch. From the other switch the remaining terminal, goes the wire to the light. That is the simplest way to wire a 3 way circuit.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


I don't think anyone will be able to help you without pictures or more information.

If you have power and the switch leg in the 3G, you will need 3 wires that go to the 2nd switch box. Simply saying there is a brown not used isn't going to tell us anything. Brown isn't a common color for this application and suggests the wiring is some sort of conduit. What other wires go to the 2nd switch besides the brown?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


ok so, from the 2 blacks that were on the sinlge pole, are hooked up: 1 black goes to the black screw. leaving the other black hanging. red and white are the travlers. which one do i attach the other black to
chipraynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


edit..
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


To the other switch
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Like this 3-way-switch.jpg
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:15 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Tie straight power to the white of the 3 wire and tape the white with black tape. Put the switch leg on the black screw of the 3 way in the 3G. Then put the black and red of the 3 wire to the 2 other screws (gold). In the 2nd switch, put the white (taped black) to the black screw. Then the black and red to the two other scews (gold).

MB's diagram isn't what you have...try this diagram.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 08-05-2012 at 08:19 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:19 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


chipraynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:26 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


i understand most of what you are saying, but all have something going to the light, I have a 2 blacks, could be power before the light
chipraynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:28 PM   #13
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


You have a bit of circuit tracing to do before anyone can help you. You need to know...where the power comes from, which wires go to the light, which wires are common to the switches, (travelers). Both mine and k_buz wiring diagrams will work, but you have to determine what you have to work with first before applying either.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Nope, one of those blacks is power, the other is the switch leg.

Screw it, it was done this way for year and years and everything was fine so I'll tell you what to do before the code changed.

Take one of those black wires that went to the original switch. Splice it to the black that goes to the 2nd switch. Now take the black that is left over and put it to the black screw on the 3 way switch. Take the left over red and white and put them to the remaining 2 terminals (doesn't matter which one goes where). There the first switch is done.

At the second switch, put the black of the 3 wire to the black screw. Then put the left over red and white to the other two terminals (doesn't matter which one goes where).

Done.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:34 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

quick 3 way question? WONT TURN OFF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
You have a bit of circuit tracing to do before anyone can help you. You need to know...where the power comes from, which wires go to the light, which wires are common to the switches, (travelers). Both mine and k_buz wiring diagrams will work, but you have to determine what you have to work with first before applying either.
If there were two blacks going to the single pole switch, then both power and the switch leg are at the box. This is what I am reading from his OP.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question with cement board and underlayment supastar1568 Flooring 7 01-05-2012 05:03 AM
Quick Wire Size Question leeave96 Electrical 5 08-22-2011 05:33 PM
Quick outlet question RodBarney Electrical 5 08-20-2011 12:06 AM
New here! Quick question. tmichelsons Building & Construction 5 06-15-2011 12:18 AM
Quick Bathroom Plug and switch Question mclemenc Electrical 5 01-30-2011 10:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.