Questions Regarding Wiring 220 To Attached Garage... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-20-2011, 10:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Questions regarding wiring 220 to attached garage...

Hi everybody and thanks for having me on the forum. I have been searching the internet and tapping some local sources for about 2.5 weeks now in regards to wiring 220 into my attached garage to run an air compressor. A few pertinent details are as follows:

Main panel is 100A service located in basement
Garage is attached
Method for wire delivery is Schedule 40 PVC conduit
Circuit requirements (230/40A breaker(2 pole))
Wire run (3) in ¾” conduit consisting of 2 THWN #8 hot wires and 1 THWN #10 GND wire.

With those details in place…I have a few questions as I am a novice and have never done any “new” wiring. I have replaced simple receptacles in the house without frying myself so I guess that is good but this serves to be a little bit more involved. Please do not feel as if you are going to offend me in any way by criticizing me….I am not a professional and I am here to get help so….PLEASE, lay it on me!

So here is the plan: