Questions Regarding 100amp Service And Panel Upgrade - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 09:57 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Is that price for a real service upgrade, or a panel change? I'm guessing the latter.
Panel change, replacing aluminum wires with copper, and add new breakers. I got it down to $800 including a 100 amp 30 spaces Siemens panel plus a whole house surge Siemens protector. I asked the electrician, would this stop the lights from flickering...this was his response:

"If the lights are flicking that means the line is overloaded.
Your panel has aluminium service wire so this can be a issue also for flicking light
New panel will have copper wires up to roof
If I will replace service wire (copper) this should stop flicking"

Advertisement

asledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:28 AM   #32
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by asledge View Post
Panel change, replacing aluminum wires with copper, and add new breakers. I got it down to $800 including a 100 amp 30 spaces Siemens panel plus a whole house surge Siemens protector. I asked the electrician, would this stop the lights from flickering...this was his response:

"If the lights are flicking that means the line is overloaded.
Your panel has aluminium service wire so this can be a issue also for flicking light
New panel will have copper wires up to roof
If I will replace service wire (copper) this should stop flicking"
When do the lights flicker?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:16 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
When do the lights flicker?
When the dishwasher changes cycles, or when the fridge starts cooling cycle, all the lights flicker.
asledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:37 AM   #34
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Just to add to the mix in my juristiction the utility does not run 150 amp service your choices are 100 to 200 amp that's it .. same with the meter. Of course you can go bigger but that is not relevant here.

So what I'm saying is the utility if they must change the meter and utility drop or lateral from.. for example .. an existing 60 amp service ( these are very old services ) your choices would be 100 or 200 amps or 400 amps brought to your house. 100 amps is the NEC minimum at todays standards. If you chooose 200 amps you can hang any panel you want equal to or less than that service size down to 100 amps.

Point here is that you need a load calc done or your inspecting juristiction will not sign off on a service upgrade. It normally is a required item to get the green tag. The other point is your contractor (he should know this) can't just hang a 150 amp panel with 150 amp main breaker on a 100 amp service. I think the others have been saying the same thing just trying to add some clarity.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:41 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Since when does the fact its aluminum service wire effect a dishwasher or lights? Copper and aluminum carry similar current, assuming the corresponding gauge wire is used.

I bet the feed to the dishwasher is shared with all sorts of other stuff also, not the service wire being a different element. There is a reason fridges are now supposed to be on their own circuit. My kitchen was wired so that the fridge, several lights and an outlet were all on the same run... not anymore!
OmegaWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:14 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaWS6 View Post
Since when does the fact its aluminum service wire effect a dishwasher or lights? Copper and aluminum carry similar current, assuming the corresponding gauge wire is used.

I bet the feed to the dishwasher is shared with all sorts of other stuff also, not the service wire being a different element. There is a reason fridges are now supposed to be on their own circuit. My kitchen was wired so that the fridge, several lights and an outlet were all on the same run... not anymore!
Ok, so I basically need to tell him when he upgrades the panel, to make sure to put the fridge, dishwasher, and lights on 3 separate circuits. Is there a particular size breaker for each? Since it's a 100 amp 30 space panel, I'm guessing there should be sufficient capacity on the panel to split up stuff. I am also adding around 20 can lights in the house, which I am hoping will be on a separate circuit as well.
asledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:22 PM   #37
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


I'd say that is a very cheap price to replace the panel, and the exsiting service with copper.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
asledge (12-12-2012)
Old 12-12-2012, 07:14 PM   #38
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Is he pulling a permit? Is he licensed? Is he replacing the meter socket?

The price seems way too low. You know what they say about being too good to be true?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:57 AM   #39
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by asledge View Post
I just got a quote from an electrician to update the Zinsco panel to a 100amp Seimens panel from home depot:

This is his estimate:
Service Upgrade 100 Amp

Installation of new 100 Amp Siemens panel 30 spaces
Pass the electrical pipes to the new panel
Installation of new breakers

Price include all material and labor

Siemens 100 Amp 30-Space 30-Circuit Indoor Main Breaker Load Center
Model # P3030B1100CU Internet # 203027295 Store SKU # 593867


He is charging me $1000 even. The panel only costs $87. Do you think I could find someone else who will do it for cheaper than that? Does this too much just to update the panel?
1,000 USD ? well IMO it is on the low side but the key issue is how easy do that electrician can route new cable or conductors in conduit plus what more they will have to sink in two new ground rods as well if not mention in there. ( for USA side )

If you going to have the Electrician replace the service by upgrading expect the power outage up to 8 hours if they can get the inspector to come by before the day is " over " they can put a approved sticker on and the same time many POCO will only reengerized it up only after the inspector say ok.

So be prepeared for that if you have anything that is cricital you may want to ask the electrician to bring the genertour or other power source to keep your fridge cold or whatever it needed to be.

Make sure that Electrician do get the permits line up before they can do anything with it.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100amp service to 200amp service - double or single panel CapeCod153 Electrical 8 05-09-2012 09:03 PM
Questions about 100-200A service upgrade kwilcox Electrical 35 04-22-2012 06:15 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Upgrade from 100amp to 200 amp service: What can stay? jimmyfloyd Electrical 11 01-09-2012 07:04 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts