Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2011, 12:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Share |
Question

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


I am finishing my basement and am planning out how I am going to install the smoke alarms / detectors. I live in West Jordan, Utah.

My house is about 10 years old and has interconnected smoke alarms using 3-wire cable. I am assuming I just need to continue the "chain" in my basement. I have a few questions:

1) I have a finished room in the basement the builder put in - even though you have to walk through unfinished space to get to it. The 3-wire for smoke alarms comes from upstairs to a single smoke alarm in the unfinished basement, then another wire goes from that alarm to the one in the downstairs finished room, and the series terminates there.

My first question is: The alarm in the finished room is hard to get a new wire to. Can I branch into the basement from the alarm BEFORE it, the alarm in the unfinished space? This would mean there are three cables coming out from the alarm in the unfinished space - one to the existing downstairs bedroom, and then another to the new rooms I'll be putting in. From my understanding of electrical principles this should work fine, but I don't know if it is against code.

2) Is there a limit to how many smoke alarms can be on a circuit? Can I add all the alarms in my basement to the existing circuit and be okay? I would be adding 3 more to an existing series of 7, for a total of 10.

Thanks in advance!

danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 12:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


You tap any smoke detector to another.

10 smokes is a minor load.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
danielrg (08-28-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 11:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 38
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


I know that my city requires the smoke detectors to be on arc fault breakers. If your worried about staying within code you may want to look into that.
mbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mbryan For This Useful Post:
danielrg (08-28-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 02:10 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,500
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


You just need to check to see how many alarms the manufacturer says can be grouped together. Even at 10 I think you will be fine. IIRC a typical limit is 18 smokes. Check the paperwork for the alarm.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-29-2011), danielrg (08-28-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 04:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Thumbs up

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


It looks like I'll be putting in another 4 for 11 smoke detectors total. Either way it looks like I'll be fine.

mbryan - I am hoping that since I am tapping off an existing series they won't make me upgrade the breaker for it. With what I am planning for the basement, my panel will be completely full, and a bunch of the breakers are double pole T&B breakers which I don't think can be upgraded to AFCI. [That's probably another post altogether.]

I'll tap off the easy to reach one in the basement. The series will then look like this:

upstairs --> bsmnt --> bsmnt BR
\--> NEW Remodel (4 more in series)

I love the forum, I just wish there wasn't always state and local code differences to consider - although I guess it adds to the fun
danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:34 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,500
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


You are not adding any load to the circuit to worry about upgrading the circuit. You also could not upgrade the breaker to a larger size without increasing the wire size also, unless you like creating fire hazards.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
danielrg (08-30-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 05:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


I have smoke detectors that communciate wirelessly. If allowed where you are, may be a option to consider.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vsheetz For This Useful Post:
danielrg (08-28-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 05:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


Jim - I was talking about "upgrading" the breaker from a standard to AFCI breaker, not actually increasing the amperage rating. I didn't write that very well. I have these weird "duplex" breakers, and there aren't any replacements that I know of that support AFCI... and I wouldn't want to move the 2nd circuit to another breaker slot as I won't have any slots left as it is after the basement remodel.
danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 06:24 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,500
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


They are commonly called tandem, duplex, twins etc. You will not find a AFCI or GFI duplex breaker. Both of those styles take a full size single pole slot.

I wanted to clarify about the breaker upgrade so both yourself and others did not create a fire hazard.

You could add a subpanel that would allow you to add more breakers as well as the AFCI protection.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-29-2011), danielrg (08-30-2011)
Old 08-28-2011, 07:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


Make sure all of the smokes are the same make/model. Some do not work with others, and instructions specifically state this. Has to do with the interconnect tripping the sounders in the other units. If the older ones are close to 10 years old, you will want to change them as well. Average life is 10 years per manufacturers.
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TJ_in_IL For This Useful Post:
Code05 (08-29-2011), danielrg (08-30-2011)
Old 08-30-2011, 12:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Default

Questions on installing Smoke Detectors


Thanks for the comment on changing out the smoke detectors. I think I'll see if I can buy all new smokes for the house in bulk or something. Some of them are acting up anyway - draining batteries really fast, beeping a couple times then not beeping again, etc.

danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical code, smoke alarms


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about Installing Schluter Shower Kit dgeorge Tiling, ceramics, marble 4 01-08-2011 02:45 PM
Installing Hardwood questions myphaykename Flooring 10 01-23-2009 08:48 PM
Installing pex radiant floor heat, questions. iMisspell HVAC 27 01-15-2009 07:03 PM
Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together tstorzuk Electrical 4 07-27-2008 05:59 PM
Smoke detectors JohnJ0906 Electrical 1 07-27-2008 08:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.