Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2011, 05:29 PM   #16
Newbie
 
kicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


I could be mistaken but I seem to recall the comcast guy telling me that I could just run a cord from the modem and plug it into the jack in the room and that would make all the other jacks in the house live, no need to wire anything directly. We have a cordless phone so I never actually tried it. If that's true is seems like that would be an easier solution than trying to re-wire the jack to the modem.

If you wanted a phone in that room as well you could use a phone splitter such as http://www.techexcess.net/ProductInf...ctid=F8V106-WH I would think. Plug that in to the modem, run a cord from there to your phone and another to the jack.
kicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 05:32 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maryland, DC Metro Area
Posts: 45
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Yes, the phone service comes through the Comcast cable modem. See picture 3 please.

Finally I got it narrowed down to the particular screws. Thanks a lot. Will definitely give it a shot after comcast services are restored from the tropical storm.

Replied thru the DIY Chatroom iPhone App.
homenewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 05:36 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maryland, DC Metro Area
Posts: 45
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Kicken: thanks for sharing, that would indeed make it a piece of cake. I wanna try it out after the services are restored from the tropical storm.
homenewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 05:37 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maryland, DC Metro Area
Posts: 45
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Kicken: Yes. I have phone spliters like that. Thx.
homenewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 06:44 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 692
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Way to complicated.

Your Comcast "pro" did you a disservice. He never should have hard wired the cable modem into the phone line like he did. He should have used an RJ-45 splitter at that box in picture 1.

All you have/had to do was get a regular phone patch cord and plug one end into ANY jack in your house and the other into your cable modem.

That's it. Nice and simple. No need to mess with the wiring.

Kicken is showing the correct splitter.

Last edited by AandPDan; 08-28-2011 at 06:45 PM. Reason: Add comment about splitter
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 06:51 PM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,881
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Okay, lets start from the beginning. I am guessing that you want all jacks to be able to have phone service to them, regardless if you have a phone plugged into them or not. Figure out where you want the EMT to be at. From there, you will need a phone jack to plug a phone cord from the EMT to the phone lines in the house. Go to every jack, and make sure they all have Red & Green from the wiring in the wall, connected to the Red & Green at the jacks. Yellow & Black, is for a second line, or in the old days, was for a transformer that was used to light up the keypads on the old princess style phones.

One you have determined that all jacks have Red & Green wired to the wires from the wall, then go back to where you have the EMT, and take a phone cord and plug into the jack nearest to it. Otherwise, you can do what is called "Home Run", and go the NID on the outside of the house, that the telephone company used, before you went with Comcast, and make sure that your home wiring is disconnected, which will be a little pigtail, that plugs into the block, and just plug a phone cord into where the wiring from your home is connected on the screws out in the NID, and just plug the phone cord in.

Another way, is to take the wiring from the NID, where it enters into the house, and just wire the pair for Line one, which can be either Red & Green, or like the CAT-5e that comcast used, and wire the blue & blue/white to a phone jack, and just plug your emt into that, and you should have phone all through out the house.

The key is to first make sure all jacks are wired the same in the house, second find where the house wiring goes to the NID, unhook from the test jack in the NID, and just plug your EMT into any jack in the house. Reason of unhooking home wiring from the NID, is so that your telco does not blow out the emt.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 06:55 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maryland, DC Metro Area
Posts: 45
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


I never knew it was so simple. Maybe the comcast pro didn't have a phone splitter the time he installed it for me? So he wanted to make that phone jack available to a telephone?
homenewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 07:24 PM   #23
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,881
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Yes, make sure all jacks are wired Red & Green appropriately, and that the inside wiring is not connected to the feeder for the telephone company at the NID. Even with the test jack out there still plugged in with the telco making it possibly live at any time, make sure either to just pull the wiring inside the house, or place a note at the test jack, stating not to plug back in.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 07:35 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maryland, DC Metro Area
Posts: 45
Default

Questions about phone jack wiring for Comcast cable


Yes, confirmed, that I can simply plug in a phone line patch wire with an RJ-11 (?) connector into the the phone jack, and all phone jacks in the house would be connected. Thanks a lot for you guys' support!
homenewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to homenewbie For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble adding a new phone jack gmoniey Electrical 4 04-26-2010 05:36 AM
Cut phone wire loop for jack? agoldsmith Electrical 3 01-27-2010 10:02 AM
Cable, Phone box & Roof Jack Steve Burke Electrical 3 11-17-2009 05:13 PM
Kitchen Wiring Questions Chazbe Electrical 22 04-11-2008 04:06 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-17-2007 11:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.