DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Questions about mounting PLYWOOD solar panels to a roof

6K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Tom Struble 
#1 ·
I recently purchased the GreenDIYEnergy guide to making affordable solar panels out of Plywood. He then goes on to explaining how they are installed and all they tell you is what professionals do with the aluminum panels. There is nothing (that I could see) about how to install 8X4 pieces of plywood that are 3/8 of an inch thick with a 3/4 inch cube as a border around the edges to screw the plexiglass to. Nothing. I am also wanting to make these things for other people but I am finding it hard to get straight, clear, concise answers. I am no electrician but want to learn as much about Solar Panel making and installation so that I can make a business out of it. I want more people to be able to afford these kind of energy generating panels vs. the extremely expensive ones, although more kind on the eyes. :) Is anyone else doing the "cheap" solar panels from home and making a living selling them? I have found I have to have my product UL certified. How can I do that when I can't find one website that will show me what mounts work well with a wood solar panel? Or, if they even meet up to code with all the red tape you have to go through??? Ugh... can anyone tell that I'm frustrated! :( Anyone who could help answer some or all of these questions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Sincerely,

Romesa

See less See more
#6 ·
I understand what you're saying jogr, it is just that I am so new to all of this and I thought that the E-Book would take me from step one to the final step, like they claimed. Building the business is no problem, I just don't want to make a shoddy product because of my lack of know-how. I might think something is fine but later (after much work and expense) find out that there is a flaw in it. A doctor can build his practice, but only after he goes to school! I'm currently a student! :)

#7 ·