Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


Here is my situation. I am in the process of wiring an outbuilding. Its about 100 feet from my house. A few mnths ago, I wired a new circuit for two outdoor outlets. I ran the lead for the out building off of the GFCI outlet. Anyway, there is about 100 feet of outdoor (dont remeber the actual name of it) 12/2 wire. Unfortunately it is already covered. Anyway, the voltage after the 100 ft run fluctuates from 70 to 100 volts. This is far more voltage drop than any calculator gave me. Any thoughts on what is causing this. I really dont want to have to dig up the #12 wire and replace it with #10. If I out any load on the wire it trips the GFCI. Thanks in advance.

jdh321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:50 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


I am going to assume that when you say you ran 12/2 that it had a ground. That aside, it sounds like you nicked a conductor in there somewhere along the line. Probably the neutral. When you dig it up run #10. 100' would justify it. Also, you could try tying into the line side of the GFI and putting another GFI rec. in the outbuilding.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:57 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


For what its worth a 20 amp 120 volt circuit should have had at least 10 awg and calls for #8 awg copper.

Anyway your voltage drop is excessive for no load and if your gfci is tripping on load you have a ground fault in a wire. It isn't a hot to equipment ground or hot to neutral or the gfci would trip and stay tripped or the circuit breaker would trip. So most likely a neutral to ground fault. Soon as you apply a cord connected load to the circuit the resulting neutral current is leaking at the fault point and the gfci sees the imbalance between the hot and the neutral and trips. You might check your receptacles to see if anything is touching the bare of the white wire other than that go get your shovel......

Remember to that the voltage drop is going to be measured from your panel not the the gfci you took power from. So if the gfci is 50 feet from the panel your distance is really 150 feet one way....300 feet round trip.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-12-2007 at 11:04 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 03:30 PM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


What do you mean in your first sentence, Stub??? Do you mean for his distance he needs #10 or #8???

-Andy-
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 03:59 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


# 10 is acceptable voltage drop for 20 amps # 8 is slightly better than recommended voltage drop for 20 amps. #12 will only be acceptable if the load is 15 amps or less. #10 will put 115 volts at 100 feet, This is the minimum listed voltage rating for most 120 volt power tools.

I would go with #10 for ease of connection to receptacles. I never worry about that 5 and 3 percent stuff on feeders and branch circuits. I size wire to get 115 volts minimum to the outlets. (theres that word again....)

Stubbie
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-13-2007 at 04:04 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 05:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


Okay guys, thanks for the info, even if it wasnt what I wanted to hear. I got some #10 wire and some 1/2" conduit. Do I need to have a grounding stake at the outbuilding or can I just contiue the ground from the house.
jdh321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 07:50 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Questions about major voltage drop.


Are you still just planning on having a switch for a light and a couple receptacles? You are not installing a sub-panel as I understand you.

Still planning on using the load side of a gfci to get the power for the wiring run to the outbuilding?

Your wire for the conduit needs to be rated for wet location like thwn. To be code compliant it needs to be black for hot, white for neutral or green or bare for ground.

If it is a cable like 10/2 G it needs to be uf 10/2 G not nm-b. i am assuming you have individual wire for conduit like thwn. Otherwise direct burial cable should just be exactly that... direct buried... and not in conduit, though there is nothing that says you can't. It would be too large for 1/2" conduit anyway as it would exceed the 53% fill rating.

If you use the gfci you can bury the conduit at 12" otherwise 18 inches. No ground rod is required at the building if only one 20 amp circuit at 120 volts.

You are confusing the grounding rod with the equipment ground wire in the conduit. These serve different purposes.

You are required to have the branch circuit hit a switch to operate a light and have at least one gfci protected receptacle. The gfci at the house would satisfy this as it will protect all downstream devices.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 02:23 PM
Aluminum-wired house, questions LMH Electrical 2 05-24-2009 03:06 AM
tiling questions - in middle of install mwill Flooring 8 12-11-2007 05:06 PM
changing drop ceiling to normal ceiling acoustic_bum General DIY Discussions 7 01-16-2007 07:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.