Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2007, 01:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Is it possible to change a GFCI receptacle to a normal outlet?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks,
Jamie Lytton
LYTTONJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 01:44 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,505
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


If the receptacle is required to be GFCI protected (kitchen, bathroom, garage, crawlspace, exterior), then no, you cannot replace with a standard receptacle unless you replace the breaker for that circuit with a GFCI breaker.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 02:57 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Jamie

Is there any particular reason your wanting to do this? Are you having trouble with the gfci tripping? Or maybe you want to plug in a deep freeze or fridge?

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 03:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


For some reason my brother wants to replace to make everything uniform and matching in the house. I told him just to leave it but he is determined and i thought i would check just to make sure he can do that.
LYTTONJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 05:46 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
If the receptacle is required to be GFCI protected (kitchen, bathroom, garage, crawlspace, exterior), then no, you cannot replace with a standard receptacle unless you replace the breaker for that circuit with a GFCI breaker.
I Second this.

Safety trumps aesthetics, if he really wants uniform devices, he will have to install GFCI breakers for all these circuits.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Stay with the gfci - safer.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 07:19 AM   #7
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


As previously stated, safety trumps aesthetics...every time. Encourage him to install the designer outlets in the rest of the outlet boxes, their similar in shape to the GFCI's. When bought by the contractor pack, it takes a small pinch out of the sting.

The GFCI breaker is another good suggestion.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 07:34 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Thanks for your help I talked him into keeping the Gfci just replacing it with a new Gfci of the same color as the rest of his outlets. I laid the knowledge on him that i got from you guys thanks again.
LYTTONJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 01:46 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Hey Stubbie,

I am having that exact problem... I want to Plug in a frig in the garage and my GFI trips after about 15 seconds of the frig running

What do I need to do to get it working?

Last edited by paul110h; 06-09-2008 at 01:50 PM.
paul110h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 02:12 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Replace the fridge.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Does your brother have a family?
would he rather have matching outlets or risk a member of his family getting electrocuted?
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:23 PM   #12
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Questions About Changing GFCI receptacle to a normal three pronged outlet


Gotta love newbie draggin up old threads. 3 years old this one
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 05:50 PM
GFCI Outlet installation in bathroom... budde97 Electrical 4 02-11-2007 12:22 AM
changing drop ceiling to normal ceiling acoustic_bum General DIY Discussions 7 01-16-2007 07:52 AM
GFCI outlet vs. breaker - GF trip speed LanterDan Electrical 2 01-09-2007 06:05 AM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.