Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2008, 07:51 AM   #46
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Share |
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Yes they are. But the manufacturers will be free to design panels as they wish. Those panel will still need to be tested and listed by a testing agency such as UL. Only the arbitrary limits will be eliminated. State and local codes may have something to say also.
So, any existing panel will still be bound to the limits set my the manufacturer at the time it was made, correct? If my panel limits a total of 40 breakers, 42 circuits total it would still be limited to that?

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 10:20 AM   #47
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,871
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Think about it for a second.....
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 11:20 AM   #48
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Hey, only a few hours of sleep last night... brain not functioning...
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:23 PM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


attion jrclen

yes you are right about the max of breakers in a panel for 2008 code . but it is not in affect untill 2010, and do you know the reason why ? the reason is because of the ark fault, because they can not be twined
joed1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 07:56 PM   #50
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


jrclen
yes u r roight about the 2008 code on breakers max in a panel , but will not be in effect untill 2010 , do u know the reason 4 this? the reason is because of the ark fault breakers u can not twin them so they [nec ] are letting u load up the panels with in reason.
joed1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 09:41 AM   #51
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed1234 View Post
jrclen
yes u r roight about the 2008 code on breakers max in a panel , but will not be in effect untill 2010 , do u know the reason 4 this? the reason is because of the ark fault breakers u can not twin them so they [nec ] are letting u load up the panels with in reason.
Do you have a link to this? I'd like to read it.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 09:51 AM   #52
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,871
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


So would I, thats news to me....
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 09:39 PM   #53
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 749
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I like to harass the guys at Home Depot and Loews by asking them electrical questions. They don't have a clue. But to an untrained home owner, they sound pretty good. It's just good clean fun.
Funny indeed!

In the last few months, here are a couple of choice things I've been party to at my local HD:

1. [customer] I need some wire to install a new light fixture. Do I have to run it in that metal piping?
[HD Professional] Oh no, you can just use this Romex stuff. It's designed so that it doesn't need to go in conduit.
[me, to customer] Do you live in Chicago?
[Customer] Yes.
[me, to customer] Code requires that it be routed in pipe. You are not allowed to use NM cable.
[HD Professional, interrupting] Hey, man, I don't know about this "NM" stuff. I was talking about Romex. It's totally cool.
[me, getting annoyed with the HD Professional] It's not allowed in Chicago.
[HD Professional] Well then why do we sell it??
[me, being sarchastic] Perhaps for people who live in Schaumburg (municipality beyond Chicago rule)?

2. [customer] Do you sell those lights that are motion sensitive but only work at night?
[HD Professional] Well, you can buy this photosensor, and then you can buy this motion sensor and with the double-bulb socket thingy, you can make it.
[me] Uh, they sell those lights in the lighting department.
[customer] Really?
[HD Professional getting snotty with me] I'm sorry sir but there is nothing currently available that does all those things.
[me, holding up a Heath/Zenith motion/photo control light similar to the ones that I've installed 6 million times] Oh, like this??!
[HD Professional] Whatever. That's not what he was asking.

And perhaps the best,
[customer] I need some wire for a rewiring project. Do I need to buy #14 or #12?
[HD Professional] Is this for 120V? Actually, the 600V wire is for 480V AC. If you're just adding a 120V circuit, you can use this 250V we have over here. And, it's got 4 wires not just one!
[me, acting like Kevin from Home Alone] Ahhhhhhhhhh!

Scary, but fun/interesting!

TTFN,
Jimmy
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 09:30 AM   #54
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimmy View Post
Funny indeed!

In the last few months, here are a couple of choice things I've been party to at my local HD:

[HD Professional, interrupting] Hey, man, I don't know about this "NM" stuff. I was talking about Romex. It's totally cool.

[HD Professional] Well then why do we sell it??

[HD Professional] Is this for 120V? Actually, the 600V wire is for 480V AC. If you're just adding a 120V circuit, you can use this 250V we have over here. And, it's got 4 wires not just one!

Scary, but fun/interesting!

TTFN,
Jimmy
My favorite is the water heater. I asked about installing a water heater. I asked for the "Master Electrician" at HD. When he freed himself, I told him I wanted to install a water heater but I didn't know anything about electricity. He told me it was no problem at all. Even a kid could do it. He said ALL electric waters heaters use 220 volts and 30 amps. So I would need 10-3 romex with ground. I told him my neighbor used 10-2. He said everything in America needs to have a neutral wire now days, but that some things don't use it. He said if my water heater didn't have a place for the white wire, I should just connect it to the same screw as the ground.

I asked if I needed a disconnect. He said I didn't need one but if I wanted one I could just put in a "wall switch" and switch the red wire. I asked to see a "wall switch" and he pointed out a standard single pole snap switch for lighting. I asked if that switch would handle the 240 volts because it said 120 on it. He corrected me and said we don't have 240 volts in America only 220 and 120. He went on to tell me the switch would work fine because it would only be on one wire and that wire was 120 volts.

And here is my favorite part, I told him I had two empty spaces in my panel but they were not next to each other. He showed me 2 single pole 30 amp breakers and told me to just put them in the spaces in the panel and put one wire on each. (I always wondered why they sold single pole 30's, now I know). And to put the ground and white in the same hole on that bar thingy in the panel.

I told him I would go find my wife before buying the stuff. I asked how he became a Master Electrician and he told me he had been an electrician in a school for 20 years, and then took a test. I said, you mean like a custodian? He said yes, but he also did all the electrical work. He told me he had to be very careful in that school because everything ran on 480 volts.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 09:45 PM   #55
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


I don"t have a link to a site but spoke to my underwritter about this matter U can speak to a underwritter in your neck of the woods or I can get u my underwriters # This concerns the # of breakers in a panel and the ark fault matter.
joed1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 10:19 PM   #56
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


jOHN

No I don"T have a link , but spoke to my underwriter which I can forword his # to you. But Iam sure you know one.
joed1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 10:27 PM   #57
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed1234 View Post
jOHN

No I don"T have a link , but spoke to my underwriter which I can forword his # to you. But Iam sure you know one.
Where are you Joe? What's an underwriter?
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 09:02 AM   #58
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Question regarding a Sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Where are you Joe? What's an underwriter?
Oh, silly! He means undertaker!

InPhase277

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Fuse Panel box question? pouncerw Electrical 4 10-05-2009 09:01 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
Main panel design question amakarevic Electrical 13 06-04-2007 04:35 AM
3 phase panel question curse21 Electrical 2 08-18-2004 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.