Question Re GFCI Replacement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2011, 05:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Hello All:

I have a somewhat (?) unusual question about our favorite friend, the GFCI outlet.

The outlet in my half bath is GFCI and is no longer functional (we use it to blowdry my daughter's hair and it finally gave up the ghost). In any event, I tried determining which subpanel break controls the GFCI in order to swap it out. However, there is no such breaker (there is still current on the hot wires even though I've turned off all the breakers in turn).

Is it possible the GFCI is directly connected to the main load panel breaker? It is an older home (c. 1960s) although the electrical was upgraded at some point before we bought it.

I guess I could shut off the main but I'd like to avoid it at all possible.

Thx.
John

Advertisement

JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


It will not be wired to the main breaker.
How did you detrmine that you still had current on the hot wire?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 06:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


I pulled the GFCI receptacle from the wall and used a circuit tester on the individual hot wires. I got a 110v light...
JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:00 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


You say "sub-panel", sooo, you have another panel? Have you systematically tried those?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse
You say "sub-panel", sooo, you have another panel? Have you systematically tried those?

DM
Well, the main panel is in effect my main load breaker where the drop from PG&E. It is one of those Frankenstein-like devices. Closed and the house has power but lift it up and no power to the house. The subpanel is in the garage on the other side of the house.

Thx
John
JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:30 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


If following code, it should be a 20 amp circuit.
You may HAVE to shut down the main and use a flashlight and do it.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Did you shut power off to the sub & then test for power ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Did you shut power off to the sub & then test for power ?
I don't believe there is a way to shut off the power to the subpanel independent of shutting down the whole house.

Again, it is probably something I'll have to do but it also strikes me as being a stupid wiring set up to begin (gotta love dated wiring + somebody's patch upgrade some time ago).

Thx.
John
JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Ah.....every sub I run has a main circuit breaker
I do like being able to shut off power at the sub all at once
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:56 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Ah.....every sub I run has a main circuit breaker
I do like being able to shut off power at the sub all at once
Yes, I don't doubt that. However, it is non-existent in my setup (at least from a basic eyes-on perspective)...

Thx.
John
JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 01:17 PM   #11
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


sounds like somebody got two circuit tied together. so the trick is to figure out which two breakers power the plug.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 01:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question re GFCI Replacement


Sounds like I need to bring a proper electrician out to the house...

Advertisement

JPShinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Question Steve in CT Electrical 8 12-07-2010 04:29 PM
replacement window question hitmehhh Building & Construction 16 11-23-2010 08:33 PM
Siding replacement question MeatballCB General DIY Discussions 16 02-05-2010 03:53 PM
GFCI question. Please Help. the banana k1ng Electrical 4 10-09-2009 08:35 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 06:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts