Question On Grounding Main Lug Service - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 05:32 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I respectfully disagree
That's perfectly ok, it's what good about a forum.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:50 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
That's perfectly ok, it's what good about a forum.
But we all know the AC equipment never ends up on right next to the electrical equipment....or anything else convenient for that matter.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:02 PM   #18
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,243
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
But we all know the AC equipment never ends up on right next to the electrical equipment....or anything else convenient for that matter.
Damn architects
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:11 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Damn architects
LOL... To share what I generally see in the field, pedestal style meter way out in left field, AC equipment other side of house, remotely located... I end up installing a sub panel at that location. To be honest, I don't even think I could use a meter like pictured, its just uncommon in this area. I don't think one of that nature is on the list of accepted meters.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:24 PM   #20
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,243
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
LOL... To share what I generally see in the field, pedestal style meter way out in left field, AC equipment other side of house, remotely located... I end up installing a sub panel at that location. To be honest, I don't even think I could use a meter like pictured, its just uncommon in this area. I don't think one of that nature is on the list of accepted meters.
New construction in this area very often uses meter main panels (I think all the main electrical equiment manufacturers make them - GE, Square D, Siemens, Eaton. And surprisingly, often I see the AC compressor on the same side of the building. Who woulda thunk it
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:56 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
New construction in this area very often uses meter main panels (I think all the main electrical equiment manufacturers make them - GE, Square D, Siemens, Eaton. And surprisingly, often I see the AC compressor on the same side of the building. Who woulda thunk it
I agree with you, BUT... out here, it just doesn't exist... Just different areas, different ways... not wrong either way, just different. To put this in a different light, in the 18 years of being an electrician, I have never seen a branch circuit installed off a meter enclosure... Which these forums offer these kinds of benefits.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-19-2012 at 08:01 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:03 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Sorry I havent responded I've been digging the conduit and pulling the wire the last few days. I ran 4/0 4/0 4/0 2/0 in 2" schedule 80. Sucked.

Now I talked to the inspector and he wants a ground above and below my water meter in the basement and 2 ground rods. So Ill run #4 continuously from the 2 clamps back to the main lug and then where does it go from there? There are 2 lugs for the hots and then what looks like a neutral/ground bar on the left with a lug on the bottom and a lug in the middle. Am i right to assume neutral goes to the bottom lug and ground goes to the center? Grounding rods go to a space on the neutral/ground bar and water main goes to another?

I could take a picture of it or draw it up to clarify, Im sure that Im confusing people with my lack of terminology.
rizzoa13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:18 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


I busted out some amazing paint skills to clarify my question. Enjoy, it took me forever.
Attached Thumbnails
Question on grounding main lug service-main-lug-picture.jpg  
rizzoa13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 08:15 PM   #24
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


The neutral and the ground must be kept separate. Two separate bars are needed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 08:35 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The neutral and the ground must be kept separate. Two separate bars are needed.


Even in the main disconnect? I know the panel has to be separated but do I need to get a separate ground bar for the main disconnect also? This is a main lug setup out that helps.
rizzoa13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 11:39 PM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rizzoa13 View Post
Sorry I havent responded I've been digging the conduit and pulling the wire the last few days. I ran 4/0 4/0 4/0 2/0 in 2" schedule 80. Sucked.
I used 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 for my 200 amp sub panel and needed 2-1/2" to pass for conduit fill. Did the inspector say that you would be ok with 2"?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 12:59 AM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rizzoa13 View Post
Even in the main disconnect? I know the panel has to be separated but do I need to get a separate ground bar for the main disconnect also? This is a main lug setup out that helps.
I think Joe thought you were showing the sub-panel.

The main disconnect is more properly referred to as your 'Service Equipment' for grounding purposes. Neutral and ground always bond at that point in the system.

Your drawing looks fine to me. Only thing I can add is that if the conduit from meter to your disconnect is metal you will need a bonding bushing screwed to the conduit and bonding jumper from that to the neutral bar in the discoinnect.

Last edited by Stubbie; 06-22-2012 at 01:15 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 01:16 AM   #28
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I used 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 for my 200 amp sub panel and needed 2-1/2" to pass for conduit fill. Did the inspector say that you would be ok with 2"?
Looks like that is OK...my code book says 4 4/0 XHHW in a 2" SCH 80 PVC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:15 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


From the meter to the disconnect I was planning on running SE cable, is that acceptable? That will be the last thing I do once the power is turned off.

2" was very tight for the 4 wires to be run through especially as my first time pulling wire. Id have gone bigger if I knew how hard it would be. Are there any regulations on running the conduit underground other than depth? Such as a distance from other services because mine runs very near my gas line.

Last edited by rizzoa13; 06-22-2012 at 06:25 AM.
rizzoa13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 08:51 AM   #30
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Question on grounding main lug service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rizzoa13 View Post
Even in the main disconnect? I know the panel has to be separated but do I need to get a separate ground bar for the main disconnect also? This is a main lug setup out that helps.
Not in the main disconnect. There they should be connected. I thought we were discussing the main panel in the house.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding question for subpanel mn1247 Electrical 26 09-19-2011 11:41 AM
Main Circuit Breaker Question vladmir1111 Electrical 2 08-20-2011 09:15 PM
grounding electrode conductor question bsperr Electrical 8 12-05-2009 10:23 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 05:34 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 06:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts