Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 12:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Question

Question on Grounding 3-Gang Metal Box


Background :
- New House (Build 2011)
- Located in Ontario/Canada
- Basement Renovating Project

I have an existing 2 Gang Metal Box that house two light switches. I have replaced that with a 3 Gang Metal Box to add an additional light switch.

The builder had previously connected each bare cable to its own screw and did not bond all the bare cables together using a wire nut. The electrical code states you can connect one bare cable to a screw and bond the remainder bare cables to it using a wire nut.

I can't seam to find any information on whether or not it is acceptable to do what the builder had originally done. Basically attach each bare cable to its own screw and not bond them together with a wire nut. I'm asking because this would save me some room in the box.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks

GeorgesAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Question on Grounding 3-Gang Metal Box


I'd pigtail them together and connect 1 to the box if it were me.

Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Question on Grounding 3-Gang Metal Box


Thanks for the reply,
That's the way I have it setup now. However, the 7 bare cables and two red wire nuts are taking up quite a bit of room. That's why I was considering the option of terminating them to a screw instead.
GeorgesAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:43 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Question on Grounding 3-Gang Metal Box


Put one under every screw and cut them flush, if you need to ground a switch leave one long enough after going under the screw to reach the switch.

Most ground screws can accept two wires as well, there is usually two raised pieces next to the screw, put one wire on each side and tighten it down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgesAA View Post
Basically attach each bare cable to its own screw and not bond them together with a wire nut. I'm asking because this would save me some room in the box.
The fact they are both securely attached to the METAL box means they are bonded together.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bare cable, electrical, grounding, metal box


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cable line grounding amakarevic Electrical 56 05-15-2012 09:22 PM
I have an embarrassing question about remodel gang box TyWebb Electrical 9 03-08-2010 08:58 PM
Grounding a Square Box <--newbie question dgates12 Electrical 20 01-06-2010 06:02 PM
4 pin dryer to 3 pin (grounding question)? nadazip Electrical 6 07-06-2009 10:00 PM
Hot tub and metal conduit question kurt9321 Electrical 6 06-23-2009 12:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.