Question On Generator Wiring - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2007, 01:06 PM   #31
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Question on generator wiring


Yeah... I knew you were just posting to inform Mdalli of interlocks as an option. You weren't pushing that particular interlock. Actually if you can't find a cheaper one it still is a little pricey but so are transfer switches. I guess we upset him by our advice. He is going to get a surprise though when he realizes he likely is going to lose 2 or 3 breaker spaces to get one installed that will work correctly. I'm sure if you have the machine tools and are a good enough craftsman it could be done. But it ain't something I would risk.
Having dealt with a few lawsuits in my day the insurance is required by law to make payment regardless of your stupidity. If it was made by a hired electrician and no inspection then they may file suit for a recovery of costs against the electrician. Generally if the legal pursuit is more costly than paying the claim they just pay and be done with it.

Stubbie

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:57 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Question on generator wiring


My basement got flooded because the battery for sump pump run out of power. I was told that natural gas generator with automatic switch box is the way to go to power the sump pump when I have power outage again. Only thing I know is it costs a lot. Things I have not idea are: is the natural gas generator reliable? What are the better models? Does it need heavy and expensve maintainance? Other than you need to have enough gasaline and personally start the generator, any other down side of gasaline generators relative to natural gas generator?
lacuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 09:03 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question on generator wiring


It's been several years since the above posts were made suggesting that there are interlocks more reasonably priced than those by InterlockKit, but I just joined this forum yesterday. I looked, but couldn't find any companies that make one for my load center. Even the one that InterlockKit suggested I buy isn't right for me because there's a 1/4" difference in the specified dimensions of my panel and what they say it was designed for. So if I were to buy it, that difference might mean I would have to modify it somewhat. That doesn't seem like a big deal to me, but if that does turn out to be the case, the thought came to me that I might as well just make the device myself. I know I'm capable of doing that but would prefer to just buy one. But I had no luck searching for alternate suppliers. NoOutage is one, but it is just a reseller of the InterlockKit brand, so that was no help.

My 45-year-old load center was made by GE, but they couldn't help either. Can anyone provide a list of interlock manufacturers.
LarryF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 09:14 AM   #34
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Question on generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryF View Post
It's been several years since the above posts were made suggesting that there are interlocks more reasonably priced than those by InterlockKit, but I just joined this forum yesterday. I looked, but couldn't find any companies that make one for my load center. Even the one that InterlockKit suggested I buy isn't right for me because there's a 1/4" difference in the specified dimensions of my panel and what they say it was designed for. So if I were to buy it, that difference might mean I would have to modify it somewhat. That doesn't seem like a big deal to me, but if that does turn out to be the case, the thought came to me that I might as well just make the device myself. I know I'm capable of doing that but would prefer to just buy one. But I had no luck searching for alternate suppliers. NoOutage is one, but it is just a reseller of the InterlockKit brand, so that was no help.

My 45-year-old load center was made by GE, but they couldn't help either. Can anyone provide a list of interlock manufacturers.
Start a new thread, you will get better results.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:46 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Question on generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdalli View Post
Just purchased a generator, and my thoughts turn to a transfer switch, but I have a question.

Every transfer switch I've seen basically duplicates the existing breaker box and has no mechanism to ensure you kill the utility main (so you don't backfeed the utility w/ your generator).

My question is this: wouldn't it be much, much simpler to install a 3PDT switch directly upstream of the main breakers on your house?? This would ensure that you could either have the generator powering your house or the utility, but never both. It would also use the existing breakers in your breaker box. What am I missing here??
I think you have the wrong idea !
If a transfer switch is properly installed,
Then it does indeed,
isolate the incoming mains,
and prevent back feeding,
this is the main reason for transfer switchs!

Perhaps you are thinking about manual interlocks,
But even manual interlocks should prevnt back feeding
if installed correctily.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:45 PM   #36
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question on generator wiring


Lacuna. You would be wise to start your own thread, since this one is 4 years old. And there are several generators out there that you could have for around $3000 installed, if you shop around.

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 06:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts