Question For Electricians - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 10:04 PM   #1
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question for electricians


Do you guys ever pull out the torque wrench and torque when a value is given? like on hot lugs?

Advertisement

SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question for electricians


Yes...

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Question for electricians


Yes......and NO!
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:20 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Question for electricians


Yes...and no.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:20 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Question for electricians


Quote:
Originally Posted by SubSailor View Post
=like on hot lugs?
What are they?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:16 AM   #6
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Question for electricians


not in resi
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:07 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,006
Rewards Points: 2,810
Default

Question for electricians


Torque = yes, while hot - no way. No need.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question for electricians


After years of doing it, my arm is a torque wrench.



The engineers never believe that one

Advertisement

General is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts