Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2008, 11:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


I'm new around here, go easy on me.

I'm in the process of wiring my basement. I have 7 outlets to wire together. It is my understanding that I run a wire from the power supply down to the first outlet in the circuit and then just go from outlet to outlet until I reach the furthest outlet. Is this correct???

Also, I will have 7 outlets total on this circuit with 12/2 wire. Do I need to use 15 or 20 amp outlets?? Would 20 amp outlets be worth the added cost??? They will be general purpose outlets with two of them serving for home theater applications (TV, receiver, DVD, blah blah) Oh, and none of these will be bathroom electrical.

Thanks for the help. -Pat

firemanpato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 01:38 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


Yes you are correct in your thinking. Use 15 amp outlets on your branch circuit. Put your 12/2 g on a 20 amp breaker.

20 amp receptacles are only used for specific equipment in residences so unless you have cord and plug equipment that has 20 amp (nema 5-20R) plugs you don't need them.

On the chance you are in Canada then you must use 20 amp receptacles on 20 amp branch circuits.

The USA allows either 15 and/or 20 amp receptacles.

Do you need a diagram for reference?


Last edited by Stubbie; 01-05-2008 at 01:45 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 05:35 AM   #3
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


Well hell ya, Stub! Everyone need Stubbies diagrams! I can type for a half an hour...and your simple diagrams trump me every time!!!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 09:11 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


What the other folks said....

Also.... If your TV Cluster will remain in the same room location (due to room design), may I suggest your "general purpuse" outlets be on one circuit. And, your TV Cluster be on a different circuit - like 12/2 using 20A breaker. As time goes on, one keeps adding more and more devices to your TV Cluster outlet. Thus, eliminating circuit overload - if all devices were on the same circuit. For example: http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w...let-Before.jpg


Hope this 2 x circuits (general purpuse and dedicate for TV Cluster) recommendation helps as well....

.
Spike99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 10:23 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


Thanks for the help. I was thinking 20 amp receptacles were a little overkill but wanted to make sure.
firemanpato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 03:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring outlets together


A better option is load diversity. Install 2 duplexes for the entertainment area, put one of them and 3 room outlets on one circuit, and the other media outlet and the 3 remaining room outlets on the other.


'
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike99 View Post
What the other folks said....

Also.... If your TV Cluster will remain in the same room location (due to room design), may I suggest your "general purpuse" outlets be on one circuit. And, your TV Cluster be on a different circuit - like 12/2 using 20A breaker. As time goes on, one keeps adding more and more devices to your TV Cluster outlet. Thus, eliminating circuit overload - if all devices were on the same circuit. For example: http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w...let-Before.jpg


Hope this 2 x circuits (general purpuse and dedicate for TV Cluster) recommendation helps as well....

.

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 01:49 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM
Wiring Design Considerations Question tjandt Electrical 6 09-26-2006 05:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.