Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2013, 05:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Im just trying to understand if this is correctly installed. The Volt max for my A/C is 253. My AC is connected to a 30A double pole breaker with 10-2 romex cable.

If you notice in the picture there is a hot and a neutral connected to the breaker for the A/C,is this normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?-20130825_164802.jpg  

word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 05:36 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


You have two hots connected to the breaker. The white should be re-identified as a hot.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 05:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


A 240 volt circuit uses the other phase and vice versa as a return 60 times a second. So there is no need for a neutral, just ground. White wire in panel should be marked with black electrical tape to be identified as a hot wire.
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


This is correct, however as a past user has stated the neutral should be re-identified. However I would not do it anymore unless you are comfortable with how the panel works and what is live since to do this you will need to remove the breaker to get tape around the wire... or risk getting dangerously close to 240v of electricity. Also I notice you have tandem breakers using 12-3 and 15-3 wire. if I am correct, since the power goes through a single cable, this is not code since you have to turn off multiple breakers to remove power from the line. hopefully someone else will come along and either verify this or tell you otherwise.

Last edited by diyer111; 08-26-2013 at 03:08 PM.
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
Also I notice you have tandem breakers using 12-3 and 14-3 wire. if I am correct, since the power goes through a single cable, this is not code since you have to turn off multiple breakers to remove power from the line
It's possible that the black from one cable and the red from the same cable are wired to circuits 5A & 7B and the black and red from the other cable is on 5B & 7A.

The code didn't require handle ties until I think '05?

However, if these MWBC's are on the same leg, then you run the possibility of up to 40 amps on the neutral.

Only the OP can verify this.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 04:57 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
It's possible that the black from one cable and the red from the same cable are wired to circuits 5A & 7B and the black and red from the other cable is on 5B & 7A.

The code didn't require handle ties until I think '05?

However, if these MWBC's are on the same leg, then you run the possibility of up to 40 amps on the neutral.

Only the OP can verify this.
Looks to me like the 20A tandem has #12 on it and the 15A tandem has #14. So in this case it is very wrong. I've seen it many times with handymen and uninformed DIYers.
Shame really, that panel is pretty neat.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 04:58 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Oh, and the white wire in question is NOT a neutral that needs to be re-identified. It is simply a white wire.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-26-2013)
Old 08-26-2013, 05:06 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
This is correct, however as a past user has stated the neutral should be re-identified. However I would not do it anymore unless you are comfortable with how the panel works and what is live since to do this you will need to remove the breaker to get tape around the wire... or risk getting dangerously close to 240v of electricity. Also I notice you have tandem breakers using 12-3 and 15-3 wire. if I am correct, since the power goes through a single cable, this is not code since you have to turn off multiple breakers to remove power from the line. hopefully someone else will come along and either verify this or tell you otherwise.
I hadn't noticed that. It may or may not be a violation to have separate breakers on the two hots in the 3-conductor cable, depending on what's at the other end. The bigger problem is overloading the neutrals. If those are wired with the black and red from one cable on the same tandem breaker, then the neutral carries the sum of the currents instead fo the difference and is overloaded.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:12 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,101
Rewards Points: 32
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Neutral is ALWAYS white, white isn't ALWAYS neutral.... not sure why people keep saying a neutral conductor is connected to a breaker, white is ONLY a color, how it is landed is a totally different story.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-26-2013)
Old 08-26-2013, 05:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


So my understanding is I have the wrong gauge of wire for the tandem breaker? I thought 12# wiring was for 20A breakers and 14# wiring was for 15A breakers? I didn't do any of this wiring, but I did add a new line into the basement for all my network equipment.
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:31 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
So my understanding is I have the wrong gauge of wire for the tandem breaker?
No, the size is correct, but both hots sharing a neutral CANNOT be on a singel tandem breaker. They must be on opposite legs of the panel. A tandem breaker has both circuits sharing the same pole.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:32 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by word2yamutha View Post
So my understanding is I have the wrong gauge of wire for the tandem breaker? I thought 12# wiring was for 20A breakers and 14# wiring was for 15A breakers? I didn't do any of this wiring, but I did add a new line into the basement for all my network equipment.
You are correct on wire size however, these 4 circuits (2 each) are sharing the same neutral.

This, will, instead of the neutral carrying the imbalanced load, it will carry the sum of the 2 loads which could be 40 amps and 30 amps respectively.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 05:35 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


If you got a 20151520 quad breaker that handle tied the 20's and 15's, then you would be straight

My bad, it's a BQ215215

Last edited by wirenut1110; 08-26-2013 at 05:39 PM. Reason: added right breaker
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
diyer111 (08-27-2013), Speedy Petey (08-26-2013)
Old 08-27-2013, 12:09 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: wright city, Missouri
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


So I have a total of 3 of these tandem breakers. They are all hooked up the same and they share 1 neutral each. Would it be easier to rewire these breakers or should I go ahead and buy this breaker BQ215215 as mentioned?

Im kind of confused on how these tandem breakers are installed. So lets say for example I had one 20A tandem breaker on one side of the panel and another 20A tandem breaker on the other side. If I shared the hot wires between these 2 tandem breakers this wouldn't cause the neutral to overload? Just trying to get an understanding of this. Thanks for the help so far guys.
Attached Thumbnails
Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?-img_0820.jpg  
word2yamutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:39 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Neutral is ALWAYS white, white isn't ALWAYS neutral.... not sure why people keep saying a neutral conductor is connected to a breaker, white is ONLY a color, how it is landed is a totally different story.
Neutral conductors can be gray. See section 200.6

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Panel Height? helpless handyman Electrical 25 02-24-2014 03:06 PM
Wiring main panel without dying Maxian Electrical 8 11-18-2012 10:11 AM
Kitchen circuit re-design - Existing is a mess darlingm Electrical 5 12-31-2011 09:45 PM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Basement wiring question kupalino Electrical 8 11-14-2009 09:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.