Question About Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 09:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about wires


Ok, this is a really basic and possibly dumb question:

I am installing track lighting in my kitchen. I took down the old lights today but will not have a chance to work on the new lighting for a few days. So I have a black and white wire hanging from my ceiling. If I just wrap electrical tape around the ends and tuck these back into my attic for a few days is this ok or is this a fire hazard?

Advertisement

snosurfa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 09:36 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,043
Rewards Points: 2,884
Default

Question about wires


You should not be able to tuck the wires into the attic. There should be a junction box installed.

You would be better to add some wire nuts instead of tape.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 10:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about wires


Yeah...that is another thing I need to add...already had to do it with the other two kitchen fixtures - whoever did the wiring on my house (built in 1987) did not always put boxes where the wires run through the drywall (guess that would be a code violation). I ended up taping them off and then putting caps on the ends too - hope that will be ok for a day or two. thanks
snosurfa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 10:17 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about wires


I agree with Jim and you should have a junction box there for it and there is no otherway around unless the former luminaire was flourscent which I have see it from time to time.

I just don't really trust the tape 100% of the time just put a wirenut on each one and do it right.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 11:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Question about wires


Yup...the only lights that don't have a junction box are florescent...not quite sure why but that is being fixed anyway. Thanks for the replies, hopefully it will all be fixed up soon.
snosurfa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:50 AM   #6
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Question about wires


Some fluorescent fixtures can be used without a box...

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral Wires Hot Problem rayray221 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 12:20 PM
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 04:00 PM
Running Wires From Basement Question reb162 Electrical 5 06-11-2010 05:08 PM
Is this normal? 20A circuit 20A wires feed 15A wires walt1122 Electrical 14 02-06-2010 03:44 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts