Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 07:51 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Share |
Default

Question about sub panel ground


Buyers will often present an offer with a lot of "subject to clauses." Example: "This agreement is subject to seller's updating the subpanel feed to 4 wires."

The seller is not obligated to accept all or any of those conditions.

Furthermore you can write up the sales contract so that you are never obligated to fix anything, leaving the buyer just with the option of backing out.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-25-2011 at 08:01 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 08:03 AM   #17
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Question about sub panel ground


The seller can refuse to fix the issue and the buyer can refuse to close the sale. But if the seller is motivated to sell the best course of action may be to have it rewired. And since the sub-panel apparently never was to code, the question of permits and inspection might arise.

And since now the seller is aware of the issue, he will have to disclose it to any future prospective buyers. Most states have disclosure forms where the seller has to tell any known problems to a buyer.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 09:18 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

Question about sub panel ground


Unfortunately it wasn't installed in metal conduit, just pulled through the walls.

Quote:
you just take 4 wires to the subpanel from the main panel. In the main panel, the ground and the neutral will be connected to the same effective point. In the subpanel, the ground and neutral will be separated. The ground will be bonded to all metal within the system while the neutral will be bonded to only the neutral bar in the panel.
It's only about a 15 foot run and a matter of pulling some paneling off the walls in the garage to take it out and replace it, so this sounds like it shouldn't be more than a couple hours work to do it the right way.

Thanks guys!

Richo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
To ground or not to ground, that is the question cartalker Electrical 8 10-18-2008 10:12 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Ground Clamps Question integlikewhoa Electrical 40 02-28-2008 09:13 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.