Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Share |
Default

Question about lighting circuit


Some people do things differently.

Should I run my lighting circuit to the range hood, and junction to the other half of the kitchen from there, or should I put an extra wire in a box (have room) and have the junction there (more wire this way)

6 of 1 half a dozen of the other?


__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Question about lighting circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan
Some people do things differently.

Should I run my lighting circuit to the range hood, and junction to the other half of the kitchen from there, or should I put an extra wire in a box (have room) and have the junction there (more wire this way)

6 of 1 half a dozen of the other?

Maybe a violation how will the range hood be connected?

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

Question about lighting circuit


Id dead end it at the range hood,wouldnt use the rangehood as a junction box.
What happens if you ever decide to relocate range hood?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
brric (01-29-2012)
Old 01-29-2012, 08:42 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,519
Default

Question about lighting circuit


A range hood that is cord and plug connected requires a dedicated circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:47 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

Question about lighting circuit


Ive never come across a range hood that was connected by a cord by design anyway,ive seen a few bootlegged to a plug with an extension cord though!
The range hoods i normally see are hard wired.
Those built in microwaves with a fan under them definately get wired into a dedicated circuit in my world anyway
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:53 PM   #6
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,744
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Question about lighting circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Ive never come across a range hood that was connected by a cord by design anyway,ive seen a few bootlegged to a plug with an extension cord though!
The range hoods i normally see are hard wired.
Those built in microwaves with a fan under them definately get wired into a dedicated circuit in my world anyway
I've never seen one either.

Anyway, this one is island mounted, so it's gotta be hardwired. I don't see specs for the wiring, but i'd assume you're not going to get an island hood with a plug on it.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit question Tommy70 Electrical 7 01-16-2011 06:09 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Circuit Size Question techinstructor Electrical 12 06-28-2009 08:24 AM
Recessed Lighting - Quality Question. 811Gibbon Electrical 8 01-24-2009 09:47 PM
lighting circuit design question amakarevic Electrical 15 10-31-2008 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.