Question About A Generator Amperage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 01:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

question about a generator amperage


I have a 12kw 120/240 generator with an amperage rating of 100/50. my question is ... can I run the 100 amps at 120 volts and the 50 amps at 240 volts at the same time?

thanks

Advertisement

pnutzhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

question about a generator amperage


12kw = that's all you have
You can pull either of totals listed or a combo to make 12 kw....no more
Ya can't get what ya ain't got

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Bay, Onterrible
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

question about a generator amperage


Just so you know for future reference Power=Volts*Amps, I'm sure everyone will chime in with power factors and stuff but for basic stuff just use that formula.
Salem747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 04:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

question about a generator amperage


Quote:
Originally Posted by pnutzhome View Post
can I run the 100 amps at 120 volts and the 50 amps at 240 volts at the same time?
Not for long
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:09 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

question about a generator amperage


If the gen is connected 120/240, you'll have 50 amps available at each of the two hot legs. This can be at 120 volts, 240 volts, or any combination, but at no point can there be more than 50 amps.

If the gen is connected 120 volts, you'll have 100 amps available. Since you now have only two wires, the two hot legs will add.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 11:39 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 10:10 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 06:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts