Question About Exposed Junction Box On Floor & Code - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2009, 05:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


This galvanized junction box is in the middle of our closet floor. The wiring and associated piping was originally in a wall that we move out two feet to make a walk-in. The floors of this building are stone and concrete so when the electrician started whining about what to do with the wiring, I told him not to sweat it since this area was to have hanging clothes above it and this was the result.

What you're looking at is where two steel pipes come up out of the floor. One comes from the fuse box (where the red & blue wires come up on the right) and one (where they disappear on the left), going to some in-wall outlets.

Now our plans have changed and this junction box is going to be in the middle of an access area. To lower it's profile in order to build a shorter "hump" around it, I was hoping to use this box on the right along with the thinner, square routing that comes with it.

My questions are, is this going to be to code? What if I don't use the metal back plate (so the bottom surface is the exposed concrete, below the parquet), is that a safety, non-code, issue? Finally, is there any issue with me snipping the red & blue wires and capping them to make it easier to remove the box?

The red & blue wires go to outlets in the bedroom wall or they may be the new wiring put in place when we added a dedicated 110 line for the air conditioner. the capped wires go to the new closet wall which has an outlet and one overhead light.


Advertisement

BradG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 05:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Quote:
is this going to be to code?
No.

Can you access under the floor to reroute the conduit/wiring?

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 06:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


I believe it is a violation of the code to have any sort of obstruction in an occupied area (closets included).
It would also be a violation of the code to put the box face down without its cover, using the stone/concrete as the "cover".

Was this box located inside the wall space prior to moving the wall?
if so, that was a violation.

I am sorry, but I would not accept anything less than rewiring the circuit, moving the J-box to an acceptable location; one where its cover can be removed for access without removal of any building part (wall, floor, ceiling, etc).

As 220/221 asked; Do you have access from below?

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:10 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


No access from below. It's poured concrete with with 2-3" stones in it. I've ruined my Milwaukee hammer-drill when working on the bathroom floor.

The current J-box situation has already been inspected and passed code. Originally, everything was in the floors or (concrete block) walls. There was no J-box before.

I'm just trying to figure out if I can reduce it's presence safely but I guess not.
BradG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Is it possible to run new wire? I mean, you could just chisel some of the concrete around the old conduit and cut it off, then just fill it up with some more concrete.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Is it possible to run new wire? I mean, you could just chisel some of the concrete around the old conduit and cut it off, then just fill it up with some more concrete.
Well yeah, that's what I should have had them do originally. It would be a pretty major pain in ass now that renovations are over. This is an apartment complex.
BradG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 01:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


I cannot delete my post. Sorry.

Last edited by J. V.; 03-20-2009 at 01:12 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 01:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Any hump someone is going to trip over
I'd build a storage chest & put a new junction box facing out that would be accessible
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 01:50 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I cannot delete my post. Sorry.
Well how about a good joke, or at least a fun quote then?
BradG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 12:05 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Question about exposed junction box on floor & code


Quote:
Originally Posted by BradG View Post
Well how about a good joke, or at least a fun quote then?
Okay. Joke.

(Question) What do fat girls and mopeds have in common?

(Answer) They are both fun to ride until a friend see's you.

Quote: "Just because you are swimming upstream and against the current, does not mean you are going the wrong way".

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 10:30 AM
Code Question: Electrical and plumbing ELurie Electrical 2 08-22-2007 09:55 PM
Drainage Code and Question rodg2915 Plumbing 1 03-08-2007 08:24 AM
code question JustJoe Building & Construction 3 01-27-2007 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts