Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2011, 04:35 PM   #1
AWK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Hey - question everyone.....Do they make a recessed plug (like a clock outlet for hiding the plug and cord behind a clock or picture) big enough for an a/c adapter? I'm putting an alarm system in my condo and would like to put a recessed plug behind the keypad panel to fit the a/c adapter. Any ideas? thanks.

AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


No, not for a transformer to convert AC to DC, if that is what you are talking about.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
AWK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


I need a recessed receptacle thats deep enough to hold the 1 1/2" deep, 3" long and 2" wide adapter plug (like you plug in the wall from an electric shaver). The ones I have seen are not that deep or wide enough to conceal the adapter and make it flush with the wall. Let me know if that makes sense.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:37 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Still no, there is nothing out there that will accept a transformer. The reason they do not want the transformer behind the panel, is because they get warm, and need to be able to be disconnected from the AC power when needed for maintenance, or replacement. Placing behind the panel kind of makes it difficult to perform said activities. If you are worried about someone pulling the plug, that is what the battery back up is for.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:40 PM   #5
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Most times the transformewr is located near the actual alarm panel.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:49 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Mount it inside the alarm panel. A simple handy box with an outlet in it is usually sufficient.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:49 PM   #7
AWK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Yeah, I was afraid my idea might not work, mainly because of the heat it can put out. I'll just have to relocate the alarm keypad panel where I can plug it in normally - thanks for all the help people!
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 06:32 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Are you talking about the keypad or the control panel? No alarm system keypad that I am familiar with requires a transformer.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:21 PM   #9
AWK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


The control panel I have contains the keypad (keypads by themselves are usually battery powered)
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:07 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Arlington Industries
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:10 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


http://www.arlcatalog.com/Fan_Specia...nstruction.htm

Probably not deep enough though for a wall wart.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:17 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


You could make a hole in the wall and install the plug inside it, I don't think this would be against code. The keypad would then cover said hole, or maybe a picture could. In fact I'd just put the keypad and plug in a custom recessed enclosure and have a picture over it. The picture would have hinges and just swing open like a door. Put a fake keypad at the entrance.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:59 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Your best bet is to extend the wire to a regular receptacle.

You can add to the wire by splicing some 18 awg wire to it. Fishing that new wire is not terribly hard especially if you do some Googling for instructions.

This would allow you to mount it like we do - direct to the wall - and the wires are in the wall. If you can locate it just above a receptacle, fishing it is easy, otherwise you'll need to do some drilling from the attic or basement if available to get your wire to an available receptacle.

Jim
Security101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 12:37 AM   #14
AWK
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Thank you Speedy Petey for the link - I'll measure and see if it will work. Security101, I think that routing it to a regular plug might end up being my best option. The security system is made by Skylink (SC100), so it's not an elaborate or professionally monitored system, but it provides some security for my condo. Thank you for your recommendation.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:25 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Question about clock outlets and/or recessed plugs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Security101 View Post
Your best bet is to extend the wire to a regular receptacle.

You can add to the wire by splicing some 18 awg wire to it. Fishing that new wire is not terribly hard especially if you do some Googling for instructions.

This would allow you to mount it like we do - direct to the wall - and the wires are in the wall. If you can locate it just above a receptacle, fishing it is easy, otherwise you'll need to do some drilling from the attic or basement if available to get your wire to an available receptacle.

Jim
Fishing cord like that is not terribly legal though.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adapters, electrical, hidden, outlets, plugs


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apartment: 3-pronged, ungrounded outlets pro_DIYer Electrical 9 10-15-2008 04:22 PM
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 03:52 PM
Another Dumb question - Self grounding outlets robertmee Electrical 9 10-25-2007 01:49 PM
Wiring Design Considerations Question tjandt Electrical 6 09-26-2006 05:44 AM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.