Question About Changing A Service Panel (breaker Box) - Electrical - Page 9 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 08:31 AM   #121
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I noticed it removes the requirement for a surface mounted box in the intro paragraph.
Yeah, I figure that the romex doesn't know or care whether it terminates into a flush or surface mounted box!

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 05:07 PM   #122
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,242
Rewards Points: 2,454
Default

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Yeah, I figure that the romex doesn't know or care whether it terminates into a flush or surface mounted box!
Yeah that's a good point ....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 10:13 PM   #123
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


hello, I am in desperate need of a wadsworth cover. My circuit box has the breakers, but they are exposed and I need the gray cover that goes over it. Are you still using your circuit breaker or did you change it (I read the postings). If you are still using it, do you know where I can get one like that from? Please email me at

Thank you,
Carrie

Last edited by beenthere; 04-20-2013 at 09:39 AM. Reason: Removed email address
csgjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 11:56 PM   #124
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


I'm only a lowly contract glazier, so when I put gas in my work van and drive to a house to give an estimate on a Anderson insulated window and tell them it will cost $175 and they say it is too much I drive back to the shop for nothing! Then mysteriously 2 weeks later they call back and say ok, but I need it done at 6:30 after kids practice. I go have the unit made, drive back and wait till 7:30, put the damn glass in all the while listening to their problems, get it done . Then I hand them a bill and they try to hand me a credit card, which I don't take. Wait for them to go to the bank , *****ing all the way , even though I told them I didn't take them. Get home for dinner at 10 pm , what do you suppose I made for the 20 minutes it took me to put that window in out of that $175.00. Gas , comp helper to ride around you got to be kidding me. Engineer this!!!!!!!!!!!
Amazingglazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:41 AM   #125
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


Seems the OP is confusing an employee (the Master) with an EC whom the Master works for.

The Master is not making 100/hr. You see, the business gets to make money too. And at that rate, the EC can't be making much either, especially if it's a large CO.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:04 AM   #126
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Question about changing a service panel (breaker box)


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Knowledge, tools, insurance, taxes, licensing, time...nothing like a slap in the face to every electrician on here to start your post off.
Not to mention a small job like that might only take a couple of hours and to trek all the way out to this guy's house and all the way back home killing half the day for $200 gross before tax, insurance, gas etc is barely worth it.

Reminds me of the guy who contacted me about a set of custom concrete sculptures for the doorway of his house, I had one of the two designs needed, and to do what he wanted was going to require a new model made from scratch, a rubber mold and casts made. I gave him a very reasonable quote I seem to remember was $950 for the model and mold, keeping in mind the model would take about 20 to 30 hours of time not including whatever time I spent on designs with him, the mold half a day's time, plus $300 in materials. The casts he needed were additional, he wrote back that it was WAY too much, turned out he thought he could get the whole thing done for the couple or three hundred dollars he wanted to spend on this!
Puhlease!! the materials alone were going to cost what he had in mind to spend total, not to mention the roughly 24 hours labor, I don't do charity work!

Advertisement


Last edited by RWolff; 04-28-2013 at 03:20 AM.
RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPE Panel change out. Main Breaber to Lug TJ14u Electrical 4 01-22-2013 11:54 PM
distribution panel amperage rating tom31415926 Electrical 10 08-26-2012 05:09 PM
Tandem breaker positions in main service panel elmaur Electrical 14 05-11-2012 02:28 PM
100amp service to 200amp service - double or single panel CapeCod153 Electrical 8 05-09-2012 09:03 PM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts