Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 08:43 AM   #16
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Share |
Default

Question about bathrooms


The old memory loss from the glue sniffing habit? Or do you want to borrow my excuse of old age?

Note: this is a running inside joke and should not be considered to mean anything else.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:56 AM   #17
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Question about bathrooms




I don’t know about borrowing your old age excuse…I might if I could only remember how old I am….Now…where’d I leave that glue???
Attached Images
 
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:24 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Question about bathrooms


Yes I understand each F/L/H will need there own 20 amp circuit. That will be 5 circuits then, I only have 30 spots but I suppose if things get tight I can put a few of those duplex breakers in. Wow it is really amazing how quickly the space is filling up. Next stop planning the kitchen, that's gonna take up a lot more!

Thanks for the advice.
justin_bliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:29 AM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

Question about bathrooms


I would not waste a circuit for the bathrooms lighting. I would grab a nearby lighting circuit on the same floor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:37 AM   #20
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Question about bathrooms


Justin, how are getting 5 circuits? (FWIW…I proposed 4…note that each heater portion gets its own circuit)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:01 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Question about bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Justin, how are getting 5 circuits? (FWIW…I proposed 4…note that each heater portion gets its own circuit)
Maybe I'm confused, or not being clear. I'm re-doing 2 bathrooms back to back, both will have new F/L/H units as you noted there will be 20 amp circuits to the heater portion (if the manufacturer states dedicated 20 amp for the heater portion). (1 each 20 amp for heater portion * 2 bathrooms = 2 circuits) Each bathroom will get a dedicated GFI outlet 20 amp. (1 each 20 amp for outlets * 2 bathrooms = 2 circuits) Each bathroom will have a 4 light vanity/light and fan. (1 each 20 amp circuit shared between the two bathroom = 1 circuit).

Is that correct? If there is a better way I'd like to do that instead. Also note if the manufacturer of the F/L/H states just a dedicated line for the whole unit I will do that instead of just the heater portion. I'm looking at the 80cfm panasonic. Maybe I will forgo the heater all together, I have forced air heat and vents in each room. The panasonic unit without the heater looks kind of ugly, anyone have and recommendations on different units?
justin_bliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:15 AM   #22
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Question about bathrooms


Eliminate the second circuit for the receptacles…put them both on one circuit. Or if you’re worried about tripping the breaker from overload, put the receptacle and lights of one bath on one circuit, the other bath lights and receptacle on another. Either way, it’s 2 circuits…plus 2 circuits dedicated to the heaters=4 circuits. Some heaters require a circuit of their own, not to be shared with the fan/light, but like you said, check the instructions.

If you go with fan/lights without a heater, just get one that has enough cfm and looks nice.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
justin_bliar (01-24-2012)
Old 01-24-2012, 10:24 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Question about bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Eliminate the second circuit for the receptacles…put them both on one circuit. Or if you’re worried about tripping the breaker from overload, put the receptacle and lights of one bath on one circuit, the other bath lights and receptacle on another. Either way, it’s 2 circuits…plus 2 circuits dedicated to the heaters=4 circuits. Some heaters require a circuit of their own, not to be shared with the fan/light, but like you said, check the instructions.

If you go with fan/lights without a heater, just get one that has enough cfm and looks nice.

Ok that's much more clear to me, sorry it took me a bit to understand it all. I think I will do as you say and put the lights on the outlets. They are florescent and the draw will be pretty low. That way as AllenJ said if 2 people want to run a hair dryer at the same time they won't blow the breaker.
justin_bliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 11:17 AM   #24
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Question about bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I would not waste a circuit for the bathrooms lighting. I would grab a nearby lighting circuit on the same floor.
Reason I suggested running a circuit for the lights and not tapping off the existing is Justin said the wiring in the house was a mess, and old 2 wire no ground. Another can of worms to get into.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 11:26 AM   #25
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Question about bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by justin_bliar View Post
Ok that's much more clear to me, sorry it took me a bit to understand it all. I think I will do as you say and put the lights on the outlets. They are florescent and the draw will be pretty low. That way as AllenJ said if 2 people want to run a hair dryer at the same time they won't blow the breaker.
2 hair dryers at the same time is something to consider…you’ll have to answer that question based on your particular family. Either way is legit. You don’t have to have the lights GFCI protected, though they can be if you wish. Fans usually only require GFCI protection if they’re over a shower.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 02:03 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Question about bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Reason I suggested running a circuit for the lights and not tapping off the existing is Justin said the wiring in the house was a mess, and old 2 wire no ground. Another can of worms to get into.
I wasn't explaining everything, I will be rewiring most of the house and doing some prep work and the parts I won't be wiring this year. The bedroom will have a 20 amp circuit for outlets and a lighting circuit that will also power 2 hall lights and possibly 1 outlet further on down the road when I get to that section of the house. So the bedroom/hall lighting circuit will have a light load with 3 75 watt bulbs and 1 outlet. I will do as you suggest though as that will probably be simpler.

justin_bliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Wiring to multiple bathrooms question budde97 Electrical 2 02-17-2007 12:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.