Question About Amps - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 08:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

question about amps


I got an old Westell DSL gateway (computer) modem from a friend, but it didn't have the power adapter. I looked on ebay for replacement power adapters and it looks like it requires one that has an output rating of 12V and 1amp/1000mA.

Now, I also found another power adapter laying around. Its actually a Westell branded power adapter and was previously for some other similar piece of equipment. Its plug fits this Westell gateway, but it has a power output rating of 12V and 1.25amps/1250mA.

Logically, I'm thinking it can't be used since it has too many milliamps. Yea, it might initially work, but will ultimately burn up the equipment at some point. Is this pretty much the case or will a 250 milliamp difference not really matter?

Also, I found another adapter laying around that while it fits this Westell gateway as well, it has a lower output rating. I think its basically 7.5V and 800milliamps. Will this rating damage as well?

Advertisement

mcf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 172
Default

question about amps


the first one should be fine. the voltage is the same and the current listed is the max. the modem will draw what it needs (in terms of current) at the rated voltage.

there are two other factors which are more important than your question.

first, is the output of the supply ac or dc? what is the required current Ac or dc. they must match.

second, if the current is dc, then the polarity must match on the power supply and the modem. if it is ac, then it does not matter.

bernie

Advertisement

bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,012
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

question about amps


The 1250 mA is just the maximum current the adapter is capable of supplying. The modem will only draw the current it needs.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:30 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

question about amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie963 View Post

first, is the output of the supply ac or dc? what is the required current Ac or dc. they must match.

second, if the current is dc, then the polarity must match on the power supply and the modem. if it is ac, then it does not matter.
I'm not sure what the output supply is (ac or dc). I'm at work now and don't have it in front of me, but will this info simply be stated on the power adapter when I get a chance to look at it?
mcf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 172
Default

question about amps


it should be.

good luck

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Wink

question about amps


Just checked and the power adapter in question here says "12VAC". I'm assuming this means 12V, AC power. So it looks like I should be good to go.
mcf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 170
Rewards Points: 172
Default

question about amps


both the wall wort (transformer) and the modem say"12 vac" correcy? if so, you are good to go.

bernie

Advertisement

bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 AMP Breaker - How many amps per leg? vwalla Electrical 6 07-14-2011 09:24 PM
Temperature correction question koomo510 Electrical 5 10-17-2008 02:34 PM
Amps on only ground? - Danger? jamiedolan Electrical 6 09-21-2008 05:55 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 11:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts