Qualified Electricians Please! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 08:03 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,723
Rewards Points: 2,406
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Some times the cause can be in a neighbours instalation.
Worth thinking about !

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:26 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,723
Rewards Points: 2,406
Default

qualified electricians please!


Do we know for sure that it is fully live ? Has it been tested with a proper tool ? Or is it just ghost voltage, there's been a lot of talk but not much progress with the original problem.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:30 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

qualified electricians please!


IMHO .... this is not ( sorry but ) ...... "GHOST VOLTAGE" if your getting lit up !!!


the "tic" tester works fine for me in residential settings ... and does what it is designed to do .. and in this case ("the OP's post" ) was absolutly correct !!

so there is CURRENT flowing in the ground .....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:40 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,723
Rewards Points: 2,406
Default

qualified electricians please!


Then its incorrect wiring, or a missing/faulty neutral !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-07-2013), Philly Master (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 05:43 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Then its incorrect wiring, or a missing/faulty neutral !

LOL those are high level diagnostic words my down under brother ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 10:39 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 320
Rewards Points: 336
Default

qualified electricians please!


Why not turn off the entire power from the main or have company disconnect(also have them check their end) ,an do the simple ohms test from the appliance incoming to the breaker wire, on each wire and also on neutral to ground,neutral to hot,ground to hot,etc?
Tracing the circuit from breaker out to end of run.

Last edited by hidden1; 11-07-2013 at 10:43 AM.
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hidden1 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 01:18 PM   #22
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

qualified electricians please!


The conductor does not have to be hot or live in order to shock someone. It could just be at a different potential compared to the other surface.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-07-2013), Philly Master (11-07-2013), stickboy1375 (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 01:21 PM   #23
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 648
Rewards Points: 722
Default

qualified electricians please!


Sorry, I'm not qualified but I do know the phone line still has current when all breakers are off.

Just a thought, don't flame me.

Could phone line voltage travel through plumbing ground to the ground wire of the electrical system if something was fudged with the phone system?
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 123pugsy For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 02:02 PM   #24
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy View Post
Sorry, I'm not qualified but I do know the phone line still has current when all breakers are off.

Just a thought, don't flame me.

Could phone line voltage travel through plumbing ground to the ground wire of the electrical system if something was fudged with the phone system?
No, because there is no physical path between the telephone circuit and the ground for Lightning protection, unless you have that 1 in a million chance, that you got a short between Ring & Ground, then you would see the problems on the phone line.

There have been cases, where the outer shield on coax for catv has become electrified, and feeds into the ground connection at the static discharge block, but when you trace it out, you find that there is a bad neutral somewhere, not necessarily at that structure, but another, due to the techs have tied all ground wires that are attached to the coax lines, are allowing it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
123pugsy (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 02:26 PM   #25
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No, because there is no physical path between the telephone circuit and the ground for Lightning protection, unless you have that 1 in a million chance, that you got a short between Ring & Ground, then you would see the problems on the phone line.

There have been cases, where the outer shield on coax for catv has become electrified, and feeds into the ground connection at the static discharge block, but when you trace it out, you find that there is a bad neutral somewhere, not necessarily at that structure, but another, due to the techs have tied all ground wires that are attached to the coax lines, are allowing it.
Telephone systems are intentionally connected to the grounding electrode, at least in my neck of the woods, as well as cable and satellite installations. It is an NEC requirement.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 02:52 PM   #26
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Telephone systems are intentionally connected to the grounding electrode, at least in my neck of the woods, as well as cable and satellite installations. It is an NEC requirement.
Because of static discharge. The physical inside conductor of the coax and the Tip & Ring do not touch the ground. It is spelled out in Chapter 800 of the NEC, why you are required to have a/v & com connections grounded at the structure. It has nothing to do with just because, it all has to do with bringing that potential down to where you do not have the chance, for the circuit to become electrified if a powered line drops on it, or you have a nearby lightning strike, or static discharge in the air, that would cause voltage to feed on through the line, to the equipment inside the structure.

Majority of the equipment that gets fried during a storm, or electrical problem at the structure, can be traced to poor or no grounding at the entrance for the incoming Coax for Satellite, CATV, Antenna, or Telephone. This is of course for a different topic, not this one.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:07 PM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No, because there is no physical path between the telephone circuit and the ground for Lightning protection, unless you have that 1 in a million chance, that you got a short between Ring & Ground, then you would see the problems on the phone line.

There have been cases, where the outer shield on coax for catv has become electrified, and feeds into the ground connection at the static discharge block, but when you trace it out, you find that there is a bad neutral somewhere, not necessarily at that structure, but another, due to the techs have tied all ground wires that are attached to the coax lines, are allowing it.

the "ground Rod" copper ( lightning protection ) and the Neutrals ARE connected .... as per NEC CODE ....





Attached Images
 
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
brric (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 03:48 PM   #28
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

qualified electricians please!


Two things to point out

1. When was the last time the op responded to the questions some of our professionals asked?

2. Arguing with some of our non-professionals is like wrestling with a pig in mud. Sooner or later you realize the pig enjoys it.

PS. Mods please please please do not close this thread.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (11-07-2013), jbfan (11-07-2013)
Old 11-07-2013, 06:57 PM   #29
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

qualified electricians please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master
Yes you did .... now post #40 ...i never comment in that thread ...but since i have experience as an ADMIN on several Vbulletin Forums i do know how to look things up and put 2 and 2 together .....( paint my own picture ) and i realy was only commenting on the 1st post which is the same OP and I would say same building ..IMHO the OP posted this ...need help w/ my dryer hookup in it he said: "Im tryin to wire my dryer into my stove circuit, it has a 3 prong pigtail. The building is old and the power source only has 2 hot wires and a ground, no neutral" so in the old days there was no nuetrals they just used the bare ground wire in the 240 set-ups ... many stoves and dryers DID USE 120 volt for the controls .. SOOOoooo the Ground wire would carry current ... and then at the panel the grounds and the neutrals are all hooked up together .... based on that and experience with older buildings ....blah blah blah ...
After re reading the OP's earlier post, I'm wondering if he did in fact combine the two appliances and this new problem is the result. Since he hasn't responded I guess we will never know.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:01 PM   #30
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

qualified electricians please!


yea and he may have not turned off the 2 pole breakers ....blah blah blah ...

Advertisement

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help :) electricians moved insulation ober76 Insulation 16 10-10-2011 11:28 PM
Advice needed on Electricians Tafe course? Daveb2311 Off Topic 3 08-01-2010 09:07 AM
Electricians choice? Thurman Electrical 6 09-21-2009 06:04 PM
Any electricians (espicially from PA)? I have a very quick question... sofakng Electrical 8 04-01-2009 03:47 PM
Any electricians out there? Panel upgrade! roncon Electrical 1 06-19-2005 01:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts