Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2010, 11:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Share |
Default

Quad breakers--


Are BQ quad breakers allowed in Massachusetts? i.e. Cutler Hammer - BQ2402120. Need 40 Amp/240 for AC and two 20 AMP/120 for TVSS . Ran load calc-ok -just no space. Thanks
wmmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:34 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Quad breakers--


what is the panel model number?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 01:06 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,197
Default

Quad breakers--


I don't think Mass bans them. But the panel needs to be rated for them and they need to be the proper ones for the panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Quad breakers--


the panel takes BR breakers
wmmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:14 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Quad breakers--


Quote:
Originally Posted by wmmurphy View Post
the panel takes BR breakers
you need to post the model number. There is nothing else that will provide the necessary information.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:41 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Quad breakers--


see below.

Merci.
Marc

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 10-22-2010 at 09:56 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:43 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Quad breakers--


Quote:
Originally Posted by wmmurphy View Post
the panel takes BR breakers
I don't really give a merde about that statement the main issue is the model name on the load centre that make the big diffrence there.

We will not advise ya to install the wrong breaker in there at all so please for safety sake post the model number and we will go from there.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 07:08 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Quad breakers--


Werstinghouse panel cat # B20-20 FN,SN. Reading the label -- BQ are one of the breakers allowed in panel. Just curious about Massachusetts allowing use of "quad" breakers... as ....well....it is Massachusetts
wmmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 01:00 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Quad breakers--


Not 100% sure of the westinghouse numbers and don't have the time at the moment to do too much searching but pretty sure the quad breaker is NOT allowed in that panel.


btw: it's not a matter of quad breakers being legal in Mass. It's a matter of quad breakers being legal in that panel. That rule is an NEC rule so anybody that ascribes to the rules of the NEC would not allow it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 08:47 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Quad breakers--


I will get ahold of one guy he will know the history of Westinghouse load centre to verify it.

I rather do this on safe side instead of walking in dark without any info on hand.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 2 quad breakers. tattoojoe Electrical 4 10-10-2010 07:04 PM
Can I get AFCI breakers for my panel? BlueBSH Electrical 21 08-04-2010 07:07 AM
All about quad breakers tns1 Electrical 1 08-30-2009 09:27 PM
Can I install tandem breakers to stop my breakers from tripping? sofakng Electrical 1 04-29-2009 01:44 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.