Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 02:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


I am installing a QO 12 circuit 6 position load center for my garage outlets and lights. Each of my 20A single pole breakers and 30A double pole breakers allows two wires to be connected to the same connector. Can i wire two separage 220 Volt plugs into the same circuit breaker? The same question for the 110 breakers.

simeonzera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 03:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Quote:
Originally Posted by simeonzera View Post
I am installing a QO 12 circuit 6 position load center for my garage outlets and lights. Each of my 20A single pole breakers and 30A double pole breakers allows two wires to be connected to the same connector. Can i wire two separage 220 Volt plugs into the same circuit breaker? The same question for the 110 breakers.
Maybe, define what you are doing and the loads involved.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


I have installed two 220v circuits to run 220v wood working equipment (unisaw, scroll saw, 5hp compressor. may add welding later). Also installed 2 110v circuits for lighter tools (band saw, drill press, grinders, small planer, and a variety of power hand tools) and lights. If i use two double pole breakers for the 220 circuits and 2 single pole breakers for the 110 circuits, then i am out of spaces in my lug box. Thanks for your response.
simeonzera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:09 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


What size wire do you have feeding the sub panel and what size breaker do you have protecting the wire?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:25 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


The breaker ampacity controls whether you can terminate more than one conductor on the breaker.

If you are out of spaces buy a bigger panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 05:13 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Is this an attached garage or a seperate structure?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
What size wire do you have feeding the sub panel and what size breaker do you have protecting the wire?
I have #4 coming from the main panel off a 60A breaker in the main breaker panel, and i will use 20A for the 110 circuits and 30 vor the 220 circuits (I will rarely have two machines running at one time on the 220 circuits, primarily a vacuum motor or a compressor motor). I used AWG10 for the 220 circuits and 12/2 for the 110 circuits.
simeonzera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:45 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Is this an attached garage or a seperate structure?
Its in an attached garage. the lug box will be within 20 inches of the main.
simeonzera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 08:03 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Quote:
Originally Posted by simeonzera View Post
I am installing a QO 12 circuit 6 position load center for my garage outlets and lights. Each of my 20A single pole breakers and 30A double pole breakers allows two wires to be connected to the same connector. Can i wire two separage 220 Volt plugs into the same circuit breaker? The same question for the 110 breakers.
Getting back to your original questions, the short answer is YES!

The QO type breakers' lugs are listed for 2 conductors on sizes up to 30 Amps.

As for the circuit loading issues brought up by others in this thread, if you happen to overload the breaker, it will trip ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:02 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Getting back to your original questions, the short answer is YES!

The QO type breakers' lugs are listed for 2 conductors on sizes up to 30 Amps.

As for the circuit loading issues brought up by others in this thread, if you happen to overload the breaker, it will trip ....
kbsparky, thanks for the response. I take it that i can run two circuits into either the 110 or 220 circuit breakers. If between the two circuits total amperage exceeds the breaker limit, it will trip. I am comfortible with that, and will plan accordingly. Thank you again.
simeonzera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:07 PM   #11
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

QO Type Circuit breaker wiringI


Ypu dont have 2 circuits, you have one circuit, that goes 2 different places from the panel.

the same can be accomplished with a wirenut and a short pigtail on a breaker that doesn't allow 2 wires

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker Bob Guercio Electrical 10 10-29-2011 03:19 PM
Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker? bigdog123 Electrical 20 09-16-2011 10:33 AM
Main Circuit Breaker Test lthomps222 Electrical 16 11-07-2010 04:40 PM
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 07:08 PM
900W and up trips breaker, Circuit draws power even with everything off... jasonblu Electrical 40 12-09-2009 02:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.