QO Quad? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 02:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

QO Quad?


I'm getting conflicting stories. I need a 30A 220 and two 20 A 110 circuits in one QO quad breaker. (Yes, I should have bought a larger subpanel. Hindsight is great.) Does Square D make them?

Advertisement

philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:47 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

QO Quad?


Doubt a home center would have them. Try checking a supply house that deals in sq d.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:30 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

QO Quad?


I don't think I've every seen such a breaker from Square D. That doesn't mean that they don't make them.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 07:34 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

QO Quad?


Type QO breakers are not available in a "quad" configuration.

Some older ones (over 30+ years ago) were available in double-2-pole configurations, but nothing has been recently produced.

Get a larger sub-panel, or change over to the Homeline stuff.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

QO Quad?


How about adding a subpanel?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 09:15 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

QO Quad?


Yes, if that is easier you could simply add another sub-panel leaving the others intact.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:40 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

QO Quad?


Histortywise., I know the QO series I never did see them come in quad verison at all so I really doubt if they ever show up like that.

But run of mill single pole tandems of course I have see it.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole Breaker VS. Quad Breaker Livewire78 Electrical 37 11-28-2012 09:26 AM
Can't get f-connectors onto rg-6 quad cable DoctorWho Electrical 25 08-29-2012 11:06 PM
Quad breaker, help...... Ralph III Electrical 14 02-02-2012 09:18 PM
Quad breakers-- wmmurphy Electrical 9 10-23-2010 09:47 PM
Anyone use OSI Quad on #30W asphalt felt? kooshball Building & Construction 0 12-06-2009 12:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts