PVC Conduit And Steel Box Question???? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 08:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PVC Conduit and steel box Question????


Is it legal and okay to use PVC conduit ran to galvanized metal junction boxes?

Advertisement

houstonbrama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 09:30 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,642
Rewards Points: 1,078
Default

PVC Conduit and steel box Question????


It's very common to use PVC and metal boxes in block walls.

Simply glue a male adapter onto the pipe, and use a locknut inside the box, just as you would with EMT. You'll need to ground the box. Most, if not all, have at least one tapped hole for a ground screw.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

PVC Conduit and steel box Question????


That's great news. Do I ground the box with the same ground that I am pulling for my plugs and switches? Oh and thanks for the info!!!
houstonbrama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:00 AM   #4
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

PVC Conduit and steel box Question????


Yes.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 12:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

PVC Conduit and steel box Question????


Anytime you are using PVC you must pull a ground wire. Regardless if the box is metal or plastic.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK to drill holes in top plate to run conduit? troll5501 Carpentry 4 05-11-2008 09:33 PM
conduit and fittings analogmusicman Electrical 16 05-10-2008 01:30 PM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 03:16 PM
Question about grounding othermatt Electrical 8 03-25-2008 05:21 PM
Copper pipe for conduit? ricemg Electrical 4 01-23-2007 06:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts