Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Hi , this is my first post here .
I have the tube into my Main, 1 1/2" with 6 runs of 12/2 wire feeding through it.

I framed out my basement to add insulation. So the 2x4's are not structual. so I drilled holes for the cable at points.
I have what I call a "sub basement" where the panel is.
How do I take the 6 runs of wire and end them into a 2x4?

Do I just stop the pipe at the wood and continue to the outlets and switches?

Any ideas???
Thanks in advance
Dino
Dino1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


I'm not an electrician, but I think you can terminate the 1-1/2" conduit into a junction box with a lid. From there you can branch off with either rigid or flexible conduit. Or, depending on code or local restrictions, you might be able to clamp the 12/2 at the junction box and not use any conduit.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
I'm not an electrician, but I think you can terminate the 1-1/2" conduit into a junction box with a lid. From there you can branch off with either rigid or flexible conduit. Or, depending on code or local restrictions, you might be able to clamp the 12/2 at the junction box and not use any conduit.



So I should end the PVC conduit into a PVC box right before the Lumber.
Then continue it where I need it to go through the lumber.

I'm just trying to make my life a little easier. I just hate the Nail along the wall with the existing wire. There is little space to do it.
Plus it will keep my work seperate from what was originaly there if there are problems.

Thanks for the idea.
Still open to others who may have more experience in this.
Dino
Dino1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


regarding terminating the plastic conduit, you can just put a connector on it and run the romex cables inside the wall from there. You should also fill the end of the conduit with fire calking.

Or you could terminate the conduit in a box as suggested, but the box cover would need to remain accessable after the walls are finished.

You may have another problem. How long is the conduit run?

Six 12-2 cables bundled together for more than 24 inches will need to be derated to 50 percent. The starting point for calculations on number 12 wire is 30 amps, so each of these circuits would need to be on a 15 amp breaker.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


I was envisioning the conduit comming up inside the wall cavity.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 05:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite View Post
regarding terminating the plastic conduit, you can just put a connector on it and run the romex cables inside the wall from there. You should also fill the end of the conduit with fire calking.

Or you could terminate the conduit in a box as suggested, but the box cover would need to remain accessable after the walls are finished.

You may have another problem. How long is the conduit run?

Six 12-2 cables bundled together for more than 24 inches will need to be derated to 50 percent. The starting point for calculations on number 12 wire is 30 amps, so each of these circuits would need to be on a 15 amp breaker.
Hi Jwhite
Thanks for the info.
The run will be about 20' for all six cables. But I plan to "T" off of that and run 3 and 3 in 1 1/2" conduit as well.

Seems like I should take a picture of this and see what your thoughts are.
Dino
Dino1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 06:08 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


You have a derating issue... so hopefully you planned ahead...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 06:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Dino, you will need to use 12 wire on a 15 amp breaker, or 10 wire on a 20 amp breaker, because of the number of wires you have in the conduit.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 07:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Please excuse my ignorance, but what does the number of wires have to do with anything? I thought everything was kosher if you could just get the wires to fit.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 07:37 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
Please excuse my ignorance, but what does the number of wires have to do with anything? I thought everything was kosher if you could just get the wires to fit.

Not hardly...
one should NOT hand out information when one has NO idea what they are talking about....you are going to get one of the naive souls hurt...
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 07:42 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite View Post
Dino, you will need to use 12 wire on a 15 amp breaker, or 10 wire on a 20 amp breaker, because of the number of wires you have in the conduit.

Jwhite
using 10 Vs 12 wire is that because of the potential heat build up?
I understand that over very long runs voltage will drop causing the amps to increase.

Right now all the existing wire is run open. But it is literaly 6 sometimes 8 wires running in the corner of the joist and the bottom plate.

The house was built in 1978 .
Ready to go to Plan "B" and just make longer routes that are open
Dino1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 07:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JGarth View Post
Not hardly...
one should NOT hand out information when one has NO idea what they are talking about....you are going to get one of the naive souls hurt...

Don't scold me without telling why. You still didn't answer my question.
And explain to me why what I have said on this subject could get someone hurt.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:05 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Read this thread ... then RE-READ it .....
You deserve "scolding"...
Don't give information on a topic which you know NOTHING about ...
Give your expetise on a subject which you are qualified ...
I'm not here to educate you ...
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:08 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


I read about derating. I don't understand why wire is derated when bundled. This is the first I've ever heard of it. I'm here to learn. I did not present my self as an expert.

Last edited by Randell Tarin; 01-26-2008 at 08:13 PM.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:24 PM   #15
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

PVC conduit ,how do I end it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
I read about derating. I don't understand why wire is derated when bundled. This is the first I've ever heard of it. I'm here to learn. I did not present my self as an expert.

Derating takes place because of heat build up... table 310.15(B)(2)(a) shows the adjustment factors...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pvc Conduit bobo60 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 09:52 PM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 06:45 AM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 08:35 PM
pulling wire through old flexible conduit cbray Electrical 1 05-20-2005 03:55 PM
Running Conduit in new basement framed walls tben Electrical 3 12-10-2004 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.