Pvc Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 11:28 PM   #1
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

pvc conduit


I just finished installing an outlet for my dryer using 1/2 in. pvc conduit running on the outside of the house to my panel. one joint between a 90 deg. bend and a length of pipe is broken. the pvc cement I bought at Lowe's which is supposed to be for pvc conduit seems to be weaker'n h***, NEVER had pvc joints break before using regular pvc cement.
my question is: how important is it to keep those wires inside the conduit dry? (THNN no. 10) I'm thinking,the stress put on the coduit during the "pull" must've been enough to break it. that cement is "crapola"!

tnx,

Advertisement

analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:10 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,672
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

pvc conduit


Did you use primer before you used the cement?

There are also different cements for different PVC's....

I'm assuming you used the gray conduit? The cement is clear...and the primer is purple....

As for the wires....the only time I use 1/2" PVC is only if it's 3 12g wires.....anything larger and I upsize the conduit. Your fine on the size....but as you have seen....it can be difficult to pull wire through.

Look at your wires....chances are they are THHN/THWN....the THWN means it's ok for wet locations. If in fact they are just THHN....then you want to avoid getting them wet...(at least that is what the sparky's will tell you...personally, unless it's going to be under water...THHN is fine)

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link

Last edited by ddawg16; 09-05-2013 at 01:13 AM.
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,818
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

pvc conduit


Single rated THHN in an outdoor conduit exposed to weather (wet location) would be a code violation.
THHN is a dry or damp rating.

You need the THWN or one of the other wet ratings to meet code.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 826
Default

pvc conduit


Not enough straps.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:29 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

pvc conduit


Too small PVC.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:35 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

pvc conduit


I'll play...


Not enough glue
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-05-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 08:54 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

pvc conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'll play...


Not enough glue
My thought too. Personally have never had a problem with any sort of pvc joint coming apart.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:30 PM   #8
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

pvc conduit


firstly I used enough cement that I was afraid of causing an obstruction in the pipe. second,thnn stranded is all HD sells. third the cement is gray with no mention on the can of using primer. (I DO use primer on regular pvc that's going to be under pressure though) and fourth,since I'll be painting the pvc to match the stucco, that paint SHOULD keep moisture out. (I hope)

tnx,

ps: 1/2 in. conduit is supposed to take 5 no. 10 wires,I only had 4 so you'd think I'd be ok. that wasn't the case,the "pull" was a nightmare. I'll go with 3/4 in the future.
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:43 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,672
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

pvc conduit


I would have a second look at that wire. Last time I bought THHN from HD, it was marked THHN/THWN.

As for wire pulls....you now understand....what is legal for conduit fill does not really reflect real world use.....when I'm spec'ing conduit....I upsize if there is any doubt....the only time I use just 1/2" is if there are only 4 or less #12's....anything bigger gets upsized.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 04:01 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

pvc conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I would have a second look at that wire. Last time I bought THHN from HD, it was marked THHN/THWN.

As for wire pulls....you now understand....what is legal for conduit fill does not really reflect real world use.....when I'm spec'ing conduit....I upsize if there is any doubt....the only time I use just 1/2" is if there are only 4 or less #12's....anything bigger gets upsized.
IMO, especially with pvc.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
plummen (09-06-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 08:28 PM   #11
Member
 
analogmusicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Default

pvc conduit


DDawg16 nailed it. I read the wire which I should have done before and it says thnn or thwn.

tnx,
analogmusicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:35 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

pvc conduit


Pretty much universally, if you buy THHN today it will be dual rated THWN. It is getting tiring reading all the replies throwing red flags about this. In toady's world this is REALLY a non-issue.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:55 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

pvc conduit


The conduit may have needed an expansion fitting.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
plummen (09-06-2013)
Old 09-06-2013, 12:14 AM   #14
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

pvc conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Did you use primer before you used the cement?

There are also different cements for different PVC's....

I'm assuming you used the gray conduit? The cement is clear...and the primer is purple....

As for the wires....the only time I use 1/2" PVC is only if it's 3 12g wires.....anything larger and I upsize the conduit. Your fine on the size....but as you have seen....it can be difficult to pull wire through.

Look at your wires....chances are they are THHN/THWN....the THWN means it's ok for wet locations. If in fact they are just THHN....then you want to avoid getting them wet...(at least that is what the sparky's will tell you...personally, unless it's going to be under water...THHN is fine)
Purple primer is for underground plumbing work so inspectors can see it,if youre using primer use the clear stuff in yellow can.

Advertisement

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit questions powertoolguy Electrical 4 08-28-2013 07:30 AM
Using 2" PVC electrical conduit RonLNY Electrical 7 01-06-2013 11:34 PM
Total Degrees of Bend in Underground PVC Conduit tedallen Electrical 12 03-29-2012 09:02 PM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 02:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts