Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2008, 04:45 PM   #1
tracy
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: maiden NC
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting in new service


thanks for reading this and possibly helping me. well im putting in a new service in a new detached garage. just a few questions. do i need an outside main pannel or can i just put the meter outside and the main inside. running pvc conduit inside and any suggestions will be great. also there is wooden trusses with a 2x10 bottom cord. putting lights and recepticals in ceiling. any advice will be great. thanks. u can email me personally with answers or pics at tracyjr.1980@yahoo.com. thanks

tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

putting in new service


Quote:
Originally Posted by tracy View Post
thanks for reading this and possibly helping me. well im putting in a new service in a new detached garage. just a few questions. do i need an outside main pannel or can i just put the meter outside and the main inside. running pvc conduit inside and any suggestions will be great. also there is wooden trusses with a 2x10 bottom cord. putting lights and recepticals in ceiling. any advice will be great. thanks. u can email me personally with answers or pics at tracyjr.1980@yahoo.com. thanks
A 2X10 bottom cord on the trusses makes me think that you have built a larger garage! More detail would be a help! And what purpose do you intend to use the garage for? A workshop? A welding shop? Will you require a heating system? Where do you live? Thes are some important considerations, and I'm sure others will have other questions also!

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:22 PM   #3
tracy
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: maiden NC
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting in new service


well this is a 40x80 garage with block walls,concrete slab floor, full bathroom,and a full 12x 8x 80 room upstairs. there is not any heat or air planned right now but will installed later. will be doing welding sanding,fabricating. just about everything. have a 80 gallon air compressor,stick and mig welder along with a 9000lb 2 post floor lift. I will be putting in a 200 amp service to this seperate from my house.i am wanting to put the breaker box inside and the meter box outside.i am verry familiar with electricity,went to school for industrial electricity and residential electricity just seeing if there is any pros or cons for what i am doing. i am located in catawba county NC. thanks
tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:42 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

putting in new service


I wold email you, but to be fair to others seeking similar info, I'll post here. In my opinion, you should have a main located outside. I personally don't like the idea of unfused conductors entering a building for any length. If you put the meter and panel back-to-back, you can put the main inside. But as usual, check with your inspections department and power company for any special requirements that they may have.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:18 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

putting in new service


I would recommend a meter main. Meter socket with load center. Then install a 200 amp lug panel inside wherever you want. This way you have additional breaker slots outside and a 200 amp main breaker outside feeding the lug panel inside. This setup gives you a disconnect for the service entrance conductors entering the building. These meter main panels are great. I wish I knew about them when I did my service upgrade 10 years ago.

I'm not real familiar with NC. I'm in SC. But you should be able to set the meter main outside on the garage and let the POCO feed it. Thats the way it is done here. Overhead or underground.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 10:10 AM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.