Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-01-2008, 08:57 PM   #1

Share |

Putting in a new electrial fuse panel?

I believe mine is rated at 150amp and have only one fuse open. I plan on doing a Home Theater in the bonus room and want to run some dedicated 20amp lines and some dedicated 15 amp lines.

Now I'm no electrician but I ran a dedicated 20 amp line for my buddies house for his home theater and it went very easy.

I would like to know what kind of work is involved in rewiring a new electrical box? I want there to be plenty of space for the new outlets and thought I "might" be able to do it myself.

Like I said I'm not electrician but I enjoy doing things myself. Is there a certain way this needs to be done or should I just leave it up to an electrician?

If this is something that should be left up to an electrician, could I get everything installed like the new box and then have the electrician come in and wire it up to save some money?

What do ya think?

If I'm a 150amp service right now, can I or should I up it to 200amp service? I need recommendations for the new electrical panel so if someone has some ideas on what brand I should get please let me know.

Last edited by imola ghost; 09-01-2008 at 09:01 PM.
imola ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:04 PM   #2
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT

Quote:
Originally Posted by imola ghost View Post
I believe mine is rated at 150amp and have only one fuse open. I plan on doing a Home Theater in the bonus room and want to run some dedicated 20amp lines and some dedicated 15 amp lines.

Now I'm no electrician but I ran a dedicated 20 amp line for my buddies house for his home theater and it went very easy.

I would like to know what kind of work is involved in rewiring a new electrical box? I want there to be plenty of space for the new outlets and thought I "might" be able to do it myself.