Putting Electrical Fixtures In A Shallow Wall. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2008, 05:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nassau, New York
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


This customer has gutted a bedroom. It is an old house with plaster and lath. One of the walls has the studs turned flat so it is actually only 2" deep. One side of the wall is open. Can I legally run wires safely in that wall. I have to come down from the attic to run the wires. It's a no weight bearing junk wall. I would tear it out and replace it with a new wall. I am concerned with drywall screws or picture hanging hitting the wire. I found knob, and tube wires cut off, and plastered in the wall. Yes they were hot.

Advertisement

RobertS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:01 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


No. My house is the exact same way. A standard 18CI box physically wont fit, and a shallow metal box is only good if you are only running 1 cable to each box because of fill. On top of that, with the stud being 2" (i am assuming rough cut, right?) you cannot achieve the 1 1/4" back from finished surface.

I have seen guys double up the studs, or use 1" furring strips to bring it out just enough to achieve 1 1/4". It would be a good idea to use metal protection plates, too.

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:14 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertS View Post
This customer has gutted a bedroom. It is an old house with plaster and lath. One of the walls has the studs turned flat so it is actually only 2" deep. One side of the wall is open. Can I legally run wires safely in that wall. I have to come down from the attic to run the wires. It's a no weight bearing junk wall. I would tear it out and replace it with a new wall. I am concerned with drywall screws or picture hanging hitting the wire. I found knob, and tube wires cut off, and plastered in the wall. Yes they were hot.
I wonder what your customers would think about you coming to a do it yourself forum to find out how to do your electrical contracting work?
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:24 AM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
No. My house is the exact same way. A standard 18CI box physically wont fit, and a shallow metal box is only good if you are only running 1 cable to each box because of fill.
Whats wrong with a 4"sq box and a plaster ring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
On top of that, with the stud being 2" (i am assuming rough cut, right?) you cannot achieve the 1 1/4" back from finished surface.
Who said you needed to be 1 1/4 from the finished surface? If your going to post information, at least find the information in the NEC first... and stop shooting from the hip....


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
I have seen guys double up the studs, or use 1" furring strips to bring it out just enough to achieve 1 1/4". It would be a good idea to use metal protection plates, too.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:28 AM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Take a look at 300.4 (D)

Name:  300.4(D).jpg
Views: 332
Size:  52.9 KB
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:13 PM   #6
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Whats wrong with a 4"sq box and a plaster ring?



Who said you needed to be 1 1/4 from the finished surface? If your going to post information, at least find the information in the NEC first... and stop shooting from the hip....
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Take a look at 300.4 (D)

Attachment 2800
The back of a finished surface (drywall for example) would be right against the outside edge of the framing member. How is that any different?


And I did not suggest a 4" box with a mud ring because I have no experience with them.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:17 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
The back of a finished surface (drywall for example) would be right against the outside edge of the framing member. How is that any different?
Maybe I misread exactly what you were trying to say, were you trying to say you cannot drill the studs or just saying you cannot have a wire in between the studs? Either way the picture I posted shows the correct installation...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:24 PM   #8
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Maybe I misread exactly what you were trying to say, were you trying to say you cannot drill the studs or just saying you cannot have a wire in between the studs? Either way the picture I posted shows the correct installation...
No, All I was saying is that you need to have that 1 1/4", and if you have a 2" stud and drull a 3/8 hole through the center, you don't have 1 1/4" on both sides. Using a 1" furring strip gives you JUST ENOUGH space. Using another 2/x on top of the existing stud gives you even more clearence.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:25 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
No, All I was saying is that you need to have that 1 1/4", and if you have a 2" stud and drull a 3/8 hole through the center, you don't have 1 1/4" on both sides. Using a 1" furring strip gives you JUST ENOUGH space. Using another 2/x on top of the existing stud gives you even more clearence.
okay cool... sorry I misread your post...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:29 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Furring out the wall is overkill. If you are worried about nails going into the wire just sleve the wire in emt or pvc conduit.
bwinters12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:34 PM   #11
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
okay cool... sorry I misread your post...
It's cool... I tend to misread too, and have done the same. It's all good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinters12 View Post
Furring out the wall is overkill. If you are worried about nails going into the wire just sleve the wire in emt or pvc conduit.
I guess its a matter of preference. Personally I think that would be overkill, plus more work than needed. I could fur out a 10' wall in about 20 min and be done with it.

Using conduit, there is assembeling the conduit fitting and such, and aren't you supposed to use thhn in it? Then you have to change over from romex to thhn, that inclused buying wire you may not already have, etc.



(correct me if I am wrong about using romex in conduit, unless it is only for a short distance and only for physical protection?)
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:06 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


emt or pvc are both acceptable methods for protecting NM against physical damage.(334.12 B). You do not need to change over to THHN.
bwinters12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
emt or pvc are both acceptable methods for protecting NM against physical damage

Yeah, that ^
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:23 PM   #14
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinters12 View Post
emt or pvc are both acceptable methods for protecting NM against physical damage.(334.12 B). You do not need to change over to THHN.
Is there a certain length that you can do it for?
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:28 PM   #15
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Putting electrical fixtures in a shallow wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinters12 View Post
Furring out the wall is overkill. If you are worried about nails going into the wire just sleve the wire in emt or pvc conduit.
Maybe required to obtain the proper insulation value anyway.... just my 2 cents... I know I would fur it out for insulation alone...

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 10:11 PM
Marrying a sloping stone wall to a cinder block wall. mrdol Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 11-09-2007 05:08 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 10:47 AM
Where to buy electrical fixtures christy123 Electrical 2 12-24-2006 10:35 AM
How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire popkadurak Remodeling 10 06-16-2006 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts