Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 09:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


My home was built in 1955 and was outfitted with a 100a "bulldog"-pushmatic panel. I have been told that it is a split bus panel, but I am confused, there are no 2.p. breakers in the panel, which may feed the bottom portion. I can't find another means of disconnect, other than removing the meter. Is it possible that the "split bus" was abandoned at some point and the panel will be hot unless the meter is removed. Any help is greatly appreciated.

avery2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:56 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,544
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


Double pole Pushmatics are side by side, not top/bottom. Check again to see if thee is not one present

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:03 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


The other thing with pushmatics that the double pole breaker the handle will be a crossover type { sorta like bridge } and it will be big and ya can't miss that by Kilometers


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:15 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,048
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


2 pole bulldog are like this image as househelper and Marc have said....

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:19 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


A single pole pushomatic breaker has a smaller push button than the 2 pole, and will be close to the centerline of the panel. A 2 pole has one larger button directly in the centerline...and like Marc said, is a crossover/bridge type.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 06:25 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


Thanks. I have determined now that I do not have split bus panel, I was told that their would be a noticeable gap, which there is not. I have double and triple checked, there are no double poles. The meter is located approx a total of 5-6' from the panel and there is no means of disconnect. I am currently rewiring the house, but when it comes time to switch out the panel I think I will leave it up to the pro's. Have a great weekend.
avery2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 08:07 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 214
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


avery2008, Wise idea to have that Pushmatic panel replaced. In some areas (like here on Long Island) those breakers are hard to find. When you do, they're expensive ie. $70.00 for a 2 pole 30 amp vs. about $9-10 for a "regular" breaker. Good luck with your rewiring.
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


I just replaced my Bulldog Pushmatic panel. I have 10 X 15A, 1 X 30A, 1 X 40A breakers if you need any?
kkachkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers


My split buss panel looks like this. It was installed in 1977. I have been told (don't know for sure) that the double pole breaker at the top of each column controls the single pole breakers at the bottom of that column. I have also been told that the double poles in that column will stay hot, as will the other column. Please correct this information, as needed, as I cannot attest to its accuracy.
Attached Thumbnails
Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers-247592991_ctxmk-xl.jpg  

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.