Pushmatic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-07-2013, 12:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 320

Pushmatic

I have a pushmatic main box in my house, and I have never worked with one before. The past ownwer just left the wires straight and screwed them down. I assume I should loop the wires over the screws to make it more secure. I would appreciate any tips regarding this style of circuit panel. Thank you in advance to all who help.

Advertisement

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 10:59 PM   #2

Pushmatic

Has anyone heard of this? I want to be sure about wiring the main panel correctly.

Advertisement

Old 02-07-2013, 11:05 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 702

Pushmatic

Got a picture?
I've never seen a circut breaker where a wire was wrapped around a screw.
An outlet or switch yes, breaker no.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:10 PM   #4

Pushmatic

Sure thanks for answering
Attached Images

Old 02-07-2013, 11:13 PM   #5

Pushmatic

It is hard to see, but those wires are just pinched behind the screws. I am thinking I should loop them around there. Yes I know the whites are going to the power and the balck is going to the ground. I have already gone over that in another thread. I will be spending a day sorting that out. I just want advice on proper attachment to the screws in the main panel.
Old 02-07-2013, 11:13 PM   #6

Rewards Points: 1,516

Pushmatic

If you had to ask the question, you shouldn't be in the box. Particularly a pushmatic box.

You also have much bigger wiring problems to resolve. Somebody hacked the electrical to "fix" the power on white problem. You don't know what he did. Just swapping colors is a dangerous way to proceed.

Hire a pro before you burn the place down or hurt yourself.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:40 PM   #7