Puncture Insulation On New Electrical Run - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2007, 10:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Hello:
My dining room remodeling project hit a bit of snag today and would like some of your input into my lastest dilema. I had my electrician come in a couple of weeks ago and he rewired my entire room. Everything was great, until during construction I inadvertantly punctured the insulation of a wire that was running under my staircase. Totally bone-head move, I know... (believe it or not I was actually being careful...)

Anyway, the this line is the last in the run and comes and is run from a an outlet. I guess I have a few questions:
  1. Is this currently a dangerous situation. The recepticle that this line runs from is currently not hooked up. (Everything connected in the box via wirenuts)
  2. Is my only option, to rerun this line? I have just put up new sheetrock, and would like to not have to rip anything up.
I have attached some pics to help you fellas diagnose. The overview shows the run, and the closeup shows the damage.

Since it will eventually be behind the wall, I don;t want to take any chances, but on the otherhand if a little electrical tape works, great.

Not really too keen on electric, but I cando some basics and understand for the most part how things operate, but also know when to call the professionals.

Actually Just tried to Post my pics and I am not allowed to, that is funny I have posted pics in the past

Advertisement

WorkOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 02:47 AM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


It depends on which insulation you went through. If it's the outer cover only (and if your SURE of this), I'd say just tape it up and go on. If you went through the conductor cover as well, it will take a little more repair, but you still have a couple options.

1) Rerun the cable from the last receptacle (which you said was partially covered with sheetrock already??). This is doable but difficult since the cable will be (should be) stapled within a few inches of the box that's already covered up. If you know approximately where this staple is you could cut out a little rock, remove the staple (and hope that the run was made through the framing and there's no more staples), attach the new cable to the old and pull it in like that. Repair the "staple access" hole in the sheetrock and you're done.

2) Cut the cable the rest of the way through and resplice. This will have to be done in a box and left exposed. It would leave you with a blank cover somewhere that you don't (or didn't) want one.

3 Cut the cable the rest of the way through and add another receptacle.

Without seeing it, I can't say which would be the best or even which I would do. If it wouldn't look totally out of place, I'd probably add a new receptacle.

If you have any more questions feel free to ask.

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 08:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


I would look at adding a recepticle. but you will probably need to add two. I doubt there is enough slack in the wire to cut the cable on though and have enough conductor left to wire to a device or make a splice.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 09:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Thanks Guys:

I have pics, but am having difficulty posting them...

Jproffer;
How can I tell if I only punctured the outer insulation and not the individual wires contained within.

WorkOnIt
WorkOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 09:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


try photobucket.com and post the links here.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 09:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Everytime I read someone post the advice that "if the insulation is not torn up too bad you can tape it up" I cringe. This advice seems to come from experience DIYers who have done this many times and never had a problem with it.

One of the concerns when doing electrical work is that the system may work, but not be safe. Often times it can take years before an unsafe condition reveals itself. I have seen alot of very shabby work that never caused a problem.

I liken this to saying that it is ok to drive your car with faulty breaks, just mash on the peddle sooner and give more time to stop. You may be able to do this for the life of the car without an issue. Do you want to take the chance is the question.

Shabby electrical work will not always cause a fire immediately. It will increas the odds of having a problem. Just because someone you know did it a hundred times and never had a problem does not mean that what you are doing is ok.

I prefer to side with the qualified testing labratories, who subject materials and equipment to fault conditions and tell us what is, and is not safe. Even then, there is not assurance on 100 percent liability. But I am turning the odds in the direction of safety, not failure.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 09:44 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Thanks for the heads-up jwhite...

This image is for you to get a sense of the run. If looking at the pic, the line comes from the right side and ends at the receptacle on the way left side of the pic. The receptacle that feeds this is another 6 feet, to the right underneath the window.


This image is a close-up of the line with the puncture...





What do you think?
WorkOnIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 10:33 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


I think you should add a recepticle just to the right of the red circle in the open wall space.

While the wall space that has not been opened next to the door could be considered a hallway, it also could be argued that this is part of the room walls. In that case you would need a recepticle within 6 foot of the door anyway.

Any wall space 2 foot or wider is supposed to have recepticles spaced so that no point on the wall is more than six foot from a recepticle measured horizontally along the wall line.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 09:16 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Since the wall is still open, don't take a chance- replace the damaged portion of the wire like jwhite discribed.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 10:10 AM   #10
Diesel Fitter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


Socket and rewire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! or a smoke det. above location. Check egress on windows upstairs you might have to jump cause the flames will head you off at the steps!

Last edited by mikemy6; 03-18-2007 at 10:16 AM. Reason: needed some !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'s!
mikemy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 10:47 AM   #11
Diesel Fitter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Puncture Insulation on new electrical run


I had to come back, my sarcasm was not well placed, but that tape it and move on comment just got under my skin and I vented on the wrong person SORRY

Advertisement

mikemy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
Rigid insulation question Endeavor General DIY Discussions 2 07-17-2007 11:27 AM
dormer window insulation wlm-21 Building & Construction 2 02-13-2007 05:04 PM
Installing new insulation in my basement and removing the old moldy insulation. Fixitgeorge Remodeling 3 10-17-2006 09:33 PM
Insulation material reusable? KUIPORNG General DIY Discussions 4 06-19-2006 03:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts