Punch A Meter Can? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 09:48 PM   #16
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,778
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

punch a meter can?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I will give you a little tip along the way just look at the POCO website and you may have to dig a little there is a meter socket listing what they approve for their system.

They were fine with the CH panel... but he did *insist* they would only go in the bottom from an UG feed. Of course they didn't say that last week when I asked.

I am famauir with that GE box just make sure ya don't go crazy with 1 inch tandem or 1 inch two pole breakers espcally with MWBC or 240 volt load you have to pay attetion where it land in that panel.

Just two 2Pole breakers (for now)...
90 or a 100 for the detached garage and a 20 or 30 for the AC


Is any way you can take a photo what the exsting meter set up at the moment ?
Sure. It's a mess now (I didn't do any of this btw)
The 3! phone boxes and disconnect are going...
the CATV box and faucet are getting moved...
---

The plan is to feed the new inside panel (about 15 feet deeper into the basement) using the joist bay where the AC lines are now; maybe with SER but probably all pipe. The (new) refr line will be coming out somewhere else.
Attached Thumbnails
punch a meter can?-existing.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-24-2012 at 10:08 PM.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:07 PM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

punch a meter can?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Sure. It's a mess now (I didn't do any of this btw)
The 3! phone boxes and disconnect are going...
the CATV box and faucet are getting moved...
---

The plan is to feed the new inside panel (about 15 feet deeper into the basement) using the joist bay where the AC lines are now; maybe with SER but probably all pipe. The (new) refr line will be coming out somewhere else.

I did took a hard look at that I am thinking a idea but this part may be a iffy here.

Just try this idea for a layout for new outdoor panel ( GE TM820RCUFLP ) is that from the left side of the meter what you have there now why not open that knock out opening and use the two inch ridge nipple ( short pipe ) conduit with meyers hubs on it or use the bottom left KO and use the two inch ell pipe and adjust the height of the panel which the main breaker should be no taller than 2 meter off from the finshed level then you can use the PVC conduit to run the rest to the basement.

Just a thought I don't want to make it worst than it have to be unless you are plan to put a wall there if so let me know I may have other idea along the way.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meter Main problem. right-sided meter? acerunner Electrical 6 07-23-2011 01:41 PM
Height of meter box Arky217 Electrical 4 05-23-2011 11:56 AM
Possible Defective or Incorrect Electrical Meter? MorganB Electrical 10 01-18-2011 10:51 AM
Is My Electric Meter Correct: Conclusion. fcfcfc Electrical 0 10-03-2010 07:00 PM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts