Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2008, 03:50 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Share |
Default

pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Hopefully he's not using 2 single pole breakers on the same phase or a tandem

Kinda what I was thinking.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:43 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

pump wiring


OK guys, I can do a lot of things, but when it comes to 220v as you can see, I'm clueless. Yes, I am pulling two legs off two single pole breakers ganged together. I must add that I'm coming off a subpanel that is about 120' from my main panel. The connection between the panels is 8/3 solid wire coming off of a 40 amp ganged breaker. At the subpanel I split the two hots one to each side. From the subpanel I have 12/3 wire going to my pump about 30' away. So pulling two 110v wires from my panel will not give me 220v? I tried pulling the hot from the subpanel first one wire from each side with two separate breakers, then from one side with a ganged breaker. Same result, Nothing.
konafixits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:45 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by konafixits View Post
OK guys, I can do a lot of things, but when it comes to 220v as you can see, I'm clueless. Yes, I am pulling two legs off two single pole breakers ganged together. I must add that I'm coming off a subpanel that is about 120' from my main panel. The connection between the panels is 8/3 solid wire coming off of a 40 amp ganged breaker. At the subpanel I split the two hots one to each side. From the subpanel I have 12/3 wire going to my pump about 30' away. So pulling two 110v wires from my panel will not give me 220v? I tried pulling the hot from the subpanel first one wire from each side with two separate breakers, then from one side with a ganged breaker. Same result, Nothing.

Your breakers should be placed on top of one another. not across from one another. and use a meter to double check your work.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:47 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

pump wiring


Can you test voltage at the pump at make it sure it's 240. Just doesn't sound like it. is there any other 240 stuff running off this panel?

Last edited by wirenut1110; 07-06-2008 at 04:50 PM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 04:48 PM   #20
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

pump wiring


Can you take a picture of what you have hooked up at the panel and the motor?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 05:44 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

pump wiring


Come on Kona, we need to get this resolved so I can go watch lifetime with my g/f
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 06:10 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

pump wiring


Believe me, I'd rather be doing anything else but this. I need to get a hold of a voltage meter, I suspect there is probably a voltage drop with that long of a run. However, my 110 stuff all seems to work OK. I operate several power tools off the subpanel with no problems. Not all at the same time however. I do have the breakers stacked, I'll forward a picture of the connections. After the voltage check I'll let you guys know what I come up with. Thanks for all the input. Aloha.
konafixits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:09 PM   #23
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,494
Default

pump wiring


I'd bet that the feed to the sub panel is only 120. There may be 2 hots, but I'd bet they're both on the same leg. That would explain why the 120 volt stuff works, but no 240. If this is the case, it must be fixed, not just because of the 240 volt pump, but also because the neutral could easily be overloaded. Neutral current on the same leg will add, on opposite legs it will subtract. There's no overcurrent protection on a neutral, it'll just burn up if overloaded.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:55 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

pump wiring


Chris,
Yes, I have seen the voltage switch type motor and the jumper type. But at that moment we had no idea what he had. Now that we know it is straight 240 this should be corrected in short order.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luxaire heat pump wiring diagram StevieRay HVAC 5 07-02-2008 10:08 AM
Pool Pump Wiring mpdive Electrical 17 06-15-2008 07:30 PM
Sump Pump wiring Redline77 Electrical 2 09-25-2007 09:16 AM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 05:50 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.