Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2013, 12:17 AM   #76
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


I really appreciate your thoroughness.

You are right on on the control box model and the motor number. I'm finding numbers on the relay but I'm having to look through a 10X jeweler's loupe to see them. I've got my headlamp on right now looking at them.

Since it is about a 40 mile drive to Grainger, I'll call them first. Hope they have the parts in stock if not, we're pretty desperate for water and I'll probably shell out for a new control box.

I'll post early evening tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

yheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 02:33 AM   #77
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


In the Franklin Electric Aim website I found the part number for both the capacitor and the relay. The numbers on my parts are the same as on the Franklin-Electric website but I cannot find the relay anywhere. It is part #155 031 102 and I've gone through the Grainger catalog, ebay, Pump warehouse, and done every kind of Google search for the part number and I can't find it. I was somewhere on page 51 of the AIM manual (or thereabouts) and saw something that said for 3HP motors or smaller to replace part #155 031 102 with #155 031 103. Still can't find the 103 either.

Someone on a different blog posted that the relays cost $45 when he used to be able to find them because his have been taken out by lightning. The same is probably true in this case but for $45 for the relay and $20-$30 for the capacitor I might as well buy a new control box for $100-$125. So if Grainger has my control box I think that's what I'm going end up doing.
yheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 07:01 AM   #78
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Even though it costs a bit more, I'd very likely opt for a whole new box too. That way you have all new parts, plus a few spare ones from the old box.

Best of luck,
Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:25 PM   #79
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Spent two hours on the phone this morning going round and round with Grainger and they ended up wanting to sell me a control box for $1160, then went progressively down from there to a $300 box. I finally signed off with them.

Finally called a little in south Tacoma and found my control box for $135. This new model has the dual overload buttons. Came home, attached it and viola! WATER!!!

My neighbor, who lives 800 feet away from me was gone during the lightning storm and came home and found his control box lid blown off, the capacitor blown up, the wooden wall around the control box scorched all around, lightbulbs blown out in out in his studio and his house. He found a huge fir tree in his backyard that was lifted out of the ground, the well wiring raised the ground all the way from the house to the well and everything was fried. I couldn't believe my eyes! He's going to have to replace every component of his well (if the pump hasn't fried or fallen off down there).

I can't thank you enough for your help. You're a genius and I am so blown away by your generosity in helping others. If I'm ever in the Reno area, I'll try to get in touch with you via this website and take you and your family out to dinner at the place of your choosing. You saved me so much time, headache, and money. Thanks again.
yheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:35 PM   #80
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,856
Rewards Points: 2,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Sounds like your neighbour took the direct hit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 11:40 PM   #81
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Quote:
Originally Posted by yheitman View Post
Spent two hours on the phone this morning going round and round with Grainger and they ended up wanting to sell me a control box for $1160, then went progressively down from there to a $300 box. I finally signed off with them.

Finally called a little in south Tacoma and found my control box for $135. This new model has the dual overload buttons. Came home, attached it and viola! WATER!!!

My neighbor, who lives 800 feet away from me was gone during the lightning storm and came home and found his control box lid blown off, the capacitor blown up, the wooden wall around the control box scorched all around, lightbulbs blown out in out in his studio and his house. He found a huge fir tree in his backyard that was lifted out of the ground, the well wiring raised the ground all the way from the house to the well and everything was fried. I couldn't believe my eyes! He's going to have to replace every component of his well (if the pump hasn't fried or fallen off down there).

I can't thank you enough for your help. You're a genius and I am so blown away by your generosity in helping others. If I'm ever in the Reno area, I'll try to get in touch with you via this website and take you and your family out to dinner at the place of your choosing. You saved me so much time, headache, and money. Thanks again.
It's really nice to hear that your well is now working!

It's the best feeling ever to hear of a success........
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 12:02 PM   #82
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mesilla, NM
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


I am showing 200ohms across Y-B, Y-R, and R-B. Obviously not good. How do you take the top off the pump to test the wires to the pump. Or should I just call a well guy.
william duffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 05:15 PM   #83
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mesilla, NM
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


I just went ahead and called the Well Dude. Thanks.
william duffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 03:54 AM   #84
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Well is 1 hp It runs then blows the capacitor 1/2 day it works replaced cap 2x now its tripping the breaker b-yel 4.5 ohms, blk-red 8ohms ,yel-red 7.4-7.5 readings are from the terminals on the franklin well box its just a terminal strip. There is no ground wire just 3 wires. Klixon overload 1/2hp rating but franklin box says 1hp how to test this it has 3 wires on it. Preasure switch has 144v on both leggs and L1 and L2 read 244v on franklin well box.
ralph19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 03:08 AM   #85
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Hello, new poster.
I've no idea what is down my well motor wise but there is a Franklin 2801054915 controller up top. Lost our water pressure, no quantity issues. Well is 90 feet and when I tested the resistance I'm getting Y-B 5.4 ohms, Y-R 17.3 ohms and R-B 22 ohms. From what I read in here that should be okay. What doesn't seem right is the current readings. I'm showing anywhere from .15 to 1.3 on Red, and 20 on both Black and Yellow. I'm thinking maybe a locked rotor or something. No tripped breakers, pressure dropped below cutoff and thats where I found it. Any ideas or thoughts?
Cheers
Tribune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 09:59 AM   #86
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


The motor is most likely 1/2 HP and I'd bet it runs on 240 volts.

Since there's very little current on red, the problem is most likely either a bad start capacitor or a bad start relay. The motor is probably ok.

If the relay is blue, it's solid-state and there's no way to test it except under load with a known good motor (which you probably have) and a known good capacitor (which we don't know yet).

The capacitor can be tested using a meter that has a capacitor test function. Most basic meters cannot test capacitors this size though some can. The capacitor will be rated in mfd and voltage. mfd is what we're testing for.

While a meter that can actually test the capacitor is by far the best, a sort of basic test can be done using any meter set to read resistance. First, short the terminals with a screwdriver. You might get a nice 'SNAP' as it is discharged, maybe not.

Next, disconnect one or both leads. Now, with the meter set to fairly high resistance (200K or thereabouts) put the probes on the capacitor terminals. The reading should be low at first, then rise as the capacitor is charged. If it stays low or doesn't rise, the capacitor is very likely bad.

The replacement needs to have a mfd rating within 10% of the original, and the voltage rating needs to be the same or higher but not lower.

I'm heading to work now, I'll be back around 4:30PM and check up on this thread.

Rob

P.S. An AC capacitor like this one is not polarity sensitive; it doesn't matter which wire goes to which terminal.

Last edited by micromind; 07-15-2014 at 10:02 AM. Reason: Added P.S.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Tribune (07-15-2014)
Old 07-15-2014, 03:59 PM   #87
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Many thanks for the quick reply Rob. You were bang on about the cap. My digital meter was used first to test this and while it would swing between 0 ohms and infinity, I thought that might be okay. Checking around our small island here, one of the plumbers had a few spare controllers and he used his analog to test the caps in those. Did just what you mentioned. When he tested mine, it just pegged and wouldn't move. I plugged one of his old ones in and tada, we got water. I'll replace the cap in mine and give back the loaner. So another happy ending. Reading the complete post here you have had a lot of happy endings. Well deserved!!

Cheers,
Ron
Tribune is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tribune For This Useful Post:
micromind (07-15-2014)
Old 07-15-2014, 07:08 PM   #88
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Pump Control test Franklin


Thanks, Ron!!

Few things are better than a success story. It makes the time that myself along with every other pro spends here worthwhile.

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
box, control, pump, submersible


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fujitsu Heat Pump Concerns SanDiegoCool HVAC 3 03-19-2009 12:27 PM
sump pump issue mikehende Plumbing 15 02-15-2008 06:36 AM
Foundation drain and sump pump slatergrl Plumbing 3 02-10-2008 09:36 AM
sump pump continuing running deck hand Plumbing 2 01-16-2008 04:35 PM
Well pump issue-should I be concerned? Mikedks Plumbing 8 10-08-2006 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.