Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2006, 12:00 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

Pulling romex thru wall with old romex?


Do you think I would be able to pull a new piece of romex thru a outlet box and up thru the wall to the attic by tapeing the two together.
I am a little worried about the new and old piece comming a part in the wall.Or what other options would I have?
Thanks doug

Doug Crf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 01:25 AM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,183
Default

Pulling romex thru wall with old romex?


What's wrong with the old romex?

Ah well, at any rate, I wouldn't rely on tape. Twist the conductors together and have someone push from the bottom while you pull from the top to minimize the stress on the connections. It'll go pretty easy.

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 05:29 AM   #3
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Default

Pulling romex thru wall with old romex?


If the original Romex is stapled in the bays you won't be able to pull this way. If not I strip back about 6" of outer shield and cut off white and black tight to the jacket. Loop both grounds, connect them together and twist them both sides. Tape all this well onto the jacket at each end and then pull while feeding the end like jp said. You might want to remove the box to make it a little smoother.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 01:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Pulling romex thru wall with old romex?


Jp what I need to do is tap into the romex and install a junction box but the problem is that the romex has no slack and I think I would need slack to be able to wire nut the wires so what I was thinking is if I could pull a new wire my problem would be solved.
Or do you know of another way I could go about this.The attic is very accesable.
I guess I could just splice in like a foot or somthing and put a junction box
where I splice it but it will not look very good considering there is only like three feet of romex there cause it comes from the wall switch to the attic for like three feet and down to the wall plug so I would have the J.B with the splice for the extension and then the J.B where I tap into it for the fan.
I do alot of electrical on trucks and the least splices and connections the better off you are.
I am sure a house is the same but also there is code to follow and I do want to follow code.
I would probley go with the extending and just have to have the boxes that close but would that be by code or not.
So would you happen to have or any one have any suggestions for me?
Thank's Doug
Doug Crf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:33 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,695
Default

Pulling romex thru wall with old romex?


How many wires are in the outlet box? Any insulattion in the walls? You could drill a hole in the top plate, drop a small chain down the wall. Catch the chain with a magnet, and pull your new wire to where ever you need it. Anothe option is to cut out he box, drop your wire, and install an old work box in its place, make your connections, and then continue with your project.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Cripple Wall to Raise Foundation? casey_wa Building & Construction 1 08-04-2007 04:32 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM
This is not a load-bearing wall, right? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 4 01-07-2007 03:49 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Remodeling 3 11-05-2006 01:39 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Building & Construction 1 11-05-2006 01:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.