Pulling Conductors Through Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 08:11 PM   #1
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Just trying to get a feel for what I'm in for...

I am ready to pull conductors into my conduit out to the new detached garage. The conduit is 1.5" PVC, about 72' total length between J-boxes, with 360* total bends. I'm pulling three #2 AWG CU conductors, and a #6 CU insulated ground. It is all THHN/THWN-2 insulation.

1) Is it better to pull one at a time, or all four at once?
2) Am I going to get this done by hand, or should I get busy tracking down a winch?

Advertisement

gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:21 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Pull all at the same time. Whatever you're using to pull (fish tape, rope, etc) Strip the ends and put a few strands of each conductor through your loop. Tape it tight but don't make a big head. This shouldn't be too bad of a pull, just make sure you have someone feeding as well as pulling in sync. Wire lube wouldn't be a bad idea.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:23 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Wicked simple just lay out all the wires nice and straight. Get some wire lube and before you start the pull put alot of lube in the pipe and relube every 20 feet. You can do it by hand just dont cross the wires when pulling them it will make things harder
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:32 PM   #4
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Awesome, thanks guys
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Just a thiought Not sure if this helps but when I pull multiples, short distances I stagger the end so I have a tapered start with a pointed tip. 72 ' WOW .... use the lube you don't want to back up and try again.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:34 PM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by gp_wa View Post
Awesome, thanks guys
Did you get Simpull wire?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:20 PM   #7
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Did you get Simpull wire?
No. but I has lube
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Sounds like plenty big enough pipe, shouldn't go too bad. I'd vac a line in with a wet/dry vac. PVC underground quite often gets water and dirt in it. Also, pushing a snake through can be a pain sometimes. Unless you had the forethought to run the pipe with the bell ends going towards the end of the pipe that you intended to push the snake from. If you used plastic 90's underground, pull slow and have someone feed the wire. Generally, it's a good idea to use metal 90's underground. What happens is the pull string/snake/wire/rope can burn through the 90. Also using a larger size pull rope/string will help to prevent this.
Sparky8370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


Like Sparky said make sure you have someone to feed while some else pulls. The guy feeding is the MOST IMPORTANT one. He can bring the pull to a complete stop and not even know he did it. Both the feeder and puller must be on the same page. You will see!!!
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


1. Areodynamic/stealthy head

2. Wire lube.

Strip the ends about 12". Unwrap and cut off all but a few strands on each wire. Slip the ends thru the fish tape and fold them back so they end up just short of where you stripped them. Don't overlap them onto the insulated part. Don't twist them individually. Put all four on, fold them back, squeeze them tight with pliers and tape it up, pulling the tape tightly. Your head should end up no bigger than the wire bundle.

The most important role is the guy feeding the wire. He will determine how easy/hard it will be.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 08:51 PM   #11
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pulling conductors through conduit


We got it done. It was a pretty tough pull and neither of us is interested in doing it again, but it's in there. Thanks for the help guys

Advertisement

gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct burial vs. conduit? vsheetz Electrical 15 01-05-2009 07:39 PM
#3 AWG Copper SER / PVC Conduit Question djejay75 Electrical 4 12-12-2008 12:40 AM
Conduit for #6 wire joey b Electrical 13 11-22-2008 01:13 PM
pulling wire through old flexible conduit cbray Electrical 1 05-20-2005 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts