Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 12:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


I'm hoping for some advice. I recently installed a built in oven with a gas drop in range on top of it. The oven is 240v requiring a 30 amp circuit (hard wired in a junction box) and the range is 120v needing a 15 amp circuit (it has a grounded plug). I'm planning on running a new circuit for the oven using 10-3 NM with a 30 amp double breaker and install an old work box in the wall to wire it. Now my question, Can I just run a some 10-2 nm from 1 hot wire, the neutral and ground from the 240 line up to a second old work box for the outlet or do I need to run a new circuit for the 120v outlet? All this work will be done in an adjacent cabinet


And a follow up, will there be any issue using a 15 or 20 amp duplex plug (for the range) on the circuit? Should I install a 120v 30amp outlet and use an adapter to go from the 30amp outlet to the 15amp plug

npage148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


You can't piggyback a 120v circuit off of a 240v circuit
You need to run a seperate 120v circuit
And you can't put a 15a or a 20a outlet on a 30a circuit

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 02:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Thumbs up

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You can't piggyback a 120v circuit off of a 240v circuit
You need to run a seperate 120v circuit
And you can't put a 15a or a 20a outlet on a 30a circuit
Additionally. There is no 30A. Single pole breaker to be had. (For the same reason) (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Additionally. There is no 30A. Single pole breaker to be had.
???? http://www.relectric.com/Store/Circu...QH130?kty=6361
LanterDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:24 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 0
Post

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LanterDan View Post
yes i have also seen a few different brands also Cuttler Hammer http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/...r--658734.aspx every brand i think makes them http://www.google.com/products?hl=en...ed=0CBsQrQQwAw

Last edited by 300zx; 11-06-2009 at 03:27 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 03:59 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Additionally. There is no 30A. Single pole breaker to be had. (For the same reason) (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
You are just not looking in the right place.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 04:18 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


You could set a four circuit panel under the cabinet and feed the oven with a 30 A double pole, and the 120 V recept from a 20 A single. But if you are already running the 10-3, might as well run a 14-2 and be done with it.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Can I just run a some 10-2 nm from 1 hot wire, the neutral and ground from the 240 line up to a second old work box for the outlet

No

Quote:
or do I need to run a new circuit for the 120v outlet?
You don't need a new circuit. You can tap off the countertop receptacle circuit if it is easier. It may be easier just to run a 12/2 20 amp circuit for the cooktop recep. You have to make that decision.

Quote:
You could set a four circuit panel under the cabinet ....
Uhhh....it would have to be a big assed cabinet to get the required clearances
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 06:03 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Thumbs up

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by LanterDan View Post
Thank you for providing the link. So far, I haven't come across the need for that breaker. They (30A. breakers) are mostly used in Shop compressors and Medium sized A/C units. And those run on 208/240V. Thankx again! (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:55 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Thank you for providing the link. So far, I haven't come across the need for that breaker. They (30A. breakers) are mostly used in Shop compressors and Medium sized A/C units. ....
A legitimate use for a single pole 30 Amp breaker is an RV outlet. Many campers have the NEMA TT-30 plug attached for such a circuit.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 10:59 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Thumbs up

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


KB Sparky (Poster #10) Thank you for ENLIGHTening me. BTW I DO eat Dessert First (sometimes)! Eliminate confusion Through Education; Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:04 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Red face

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You are just not looking in the right place.
You are (probably) right! BTW. I didn't say it doesn't exist. Just that I haven't had a need or request for it!! No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:29 AM   #13
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 0
Post

Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Additionally. There is no 30A. Single pole breaker to be had. (For the same reason) (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
quoted
Quote:
You are (probably) right! BTW. I didn't say it doesn't exist. Just that I haven't had a need or request for it!

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obtain 120V 30 amp from 120/240 30 amp generator outlet rick p Electrical 2 08-30-2009 12:06 PM
120v for shed from 240v HotTub circuit? MrMark Electrical 6 04-06-2009 12:43 AM
30a 240v air compressor circuit crecore Electrical 2 09-21-2006 07:52 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.