Pulling A 12/2 Run From 12/3, How To? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2011, 09:16 PM   #16
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 996
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
What in the world are you talking about. Getting clarity from the person that starts the thread, instead of having to play guessing games, makes stuff easier to solve, and plus makes the thread no longer than three maybe four posts.

In some circumstances, but not this one. A pretty simple, straight forward question was asked and it took a full page to get a clear answer. Seems to be a common occurrence, ignore the original question and go off on some tangent

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:19 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,395
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


A lot is because some of us like to have fun when you get a new person and want to try to work through their situation, not just rush to end the topic. The problem with the starter on this thread, is that the OP was not clear in what they were attempting.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:49 PM   #18
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 996
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


where as i prefer to first answer their question and THEN add additional information.

I've noticed it on many forums. If too much information is given, people will ignore your questions. If you ask a bunch of questions people will only answer the easiest most obvious question
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:05 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 91
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


So that I can understand this better, I assume... we're talking about nm cable right, and nothing being run through flex? And it sounds like... there are two hots, a neutral and a ground in it, unless I am missing something. What I think some of us suggested is just disconnect one of the hots, from both ends, so you just have one dead wire there in case you ever want a new line someplace.. as opposed to cutting it off or short and being forced to run a new line.. and in essence, you save yourself all the hassle of running a new line, stapling the cables to joists, ignoring the ones that are in-between the studs, etc... (I'm just saying... I'm still recovering from spending the last week in an attic re-running lighting through a unit, and man does it get tiring at times in close quarters where all you can do is roll over.., so if it's safe, effective, and plans for the future and takes less work, yes!!!!)

:insert cricket chirpings:

...is this correct? If the case is that, then he (or she..) doesn't need to run a NEW line, and by disconnecting (not cutting) the spare extra wire at each end, he effectively is creating a 12/2 line which he can use and just not even worry about the third line until the time comes when a potential new line is desired..
scyarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:05 PM   #20
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SocalPaddy View Post
Obviously something getting lost in translation here. My ultimate aim is a 12/2 run for an outlet I need in the attic.

*I have a run of 12/3 from the breaker box which WAS wired to a now defunct 3-way switch in our kitchen.This 12/3 is currently is currently attached at the breaker box. The other end is now in a junction box in my attic and the ends are capped and the breaker is off.

*The 12/2 I need is near that location.

*I understand from this thread that i can pull a 12/2 by taking it from the 12/3 at this junction box in my attic.

*The remaining wire (red) may be capped in this junction box for possible future use.

*The other end of the red at the breaker box may be left alone
Lost in translation?
Before you get carried away, a 12/3 running from the breaker box to a switch box has nothing to do with a three way switch. Are you sure that isn't a MWBC? Where do the black and red wires connect inside the breaker box?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-23-2011)
Old 10-23-2011, 10:10 PM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,395
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Jimmy, here too much just either makes it harder to decipher if they do not place the info into paragraphs, or sub brief, then spell out each instance. I would rather have the info in the following order:

1. What are they seeing on their end.
2. What have they done if anything in attempting to fix the problem.
3. If not able to fix, what in what order are they asking for help.
4. And in the end, what solution are they looking for, instead of abandoning it in the end, while everyone else is trying to play poker with the original post, to see who has the five card Monty.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:24 PM   #22
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 996
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Lost in translation?
Before you get carried away, a 12/3 running from the breaker box to a switch box has nothing to do with a three way switch. Are you sure that isn't a MWBC? Where do the black and red wires connect inside the breaker box?

It doesn't really matter what the cable was used for but i think what a7ecorsair is getting at is........ are you absolutely sure the cable doesn't go to any other box first?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
scyarch (10-24-2011)
Old 10-24-2011, 01:52 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 91
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
It doesn't really matter what the cable was used for but i think what a7ecorsair is getting at is........ are you absolutely sure the cable doesn't go to any other box first?
I didn't even think of that and that kind of thing happens to me routinely. Strange wiring jobs from anytime someplace is wired...

That said... was I incorrect that the red can't just be disconnected, and use the white and black to power the switch and light?
scyarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 02:15 AM   #24
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 996
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pulling a 12/2 run from 12/3, how to?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scyarch View Post
I didn't even think of that and that kind of thing happens to me routinely. Strange wiring jobs from anytime someplace is wired...

That said... was I incorrect that the red can't just be disconnected, and use the white and black to power the switch and light?
If it goes somewhere else, it really depends on what else is on the circuit

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
scyarch (10-24-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 12/2 with 12/3 behind wall iya Electrical 8 06-20-2010 08:51 PM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Afci & 12/2 golddog Electrical 11 12-10-2009 12:23 PM
12/2 vs. 12/3 Suncrest79 Electrical 2 03-07-2009 03:42 PM
12/2 wire vs "heater wire" shtoink Electrical 11 11-23-2008 03:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts