Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2012, 05:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Folks,

I had a short going to my pool motor which we traced to a section of corroded conduit near the box at the pump, but there also seems to be a problem further upstream. We spot checked possible trouble sections along the conduit and it seems fine, so potentially some crossed wires somewhere in there. I'd like to just pull the old wires thru and run new wire through the existing conduit. I understand this is never easy, but is possible and i've looked up various tips and tricks that may or may not help a bit. The other option is a new trench, but its 115 degrees in the shade in phoenix right now, so not a favorable option, although I know it may be the only answer.

My question is, given the wire has been buried for 33 years and the short downstream may have "spot welded" to the conduit (but maybe not). Is it worth even trying to pull the wires out at this point? Or should I just focus our efforts on a new trench (my friend loaned me his 17 year old son to dig the trench...but i don't want him to die of heatstroke).

So it it worth the effort to pull at this point???

Thanks

matt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


try pulling the old wires out and attach a rope to them, if it pulls easy then you've got it made and you haven't spent any money on wire or anything,
. Just attace new wires to the rope and pull them in after. if you can't get the old wires out then start digging

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (07-12-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 06:31 PM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,131
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Rent a walk behind trenching machine----let the young kid run that---watch from an air conditioned room.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 06:49 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Rent a walk behind trenching machine----let the young kid run that---watch from an air conditioned room.
wouldn't it be more satisfying watching him dig from the porch under an umbrella with a cold beer?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (07-12-2012), oh'mike (07-13-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 07:02 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
wouldn't it be more satisfying watching him dig from the porch under an umbrella with a cold beer?
Not when it is 115 degrees outside!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:34 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


how many wires in the conduit,but definitly do the pull did you pick up a ground to conduit or wires shorting together? NOTE: tie a pull rope on the old wires as you start....removing!i konw you knew that but had to say it..sorry
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 918
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Not when it is 115 degrees outside!!
But it's a dry 115 degrees.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
CopperClad (07-12-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 08:21 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
But it's a dry 115 degrees.
Yea, I've been there in that dry heat before!!!!!!!

So maybe my clothes didn't stick to me as much as it does at home, but is was still freaking hot!!!

Of course when you add the weapon and other stuff that you have to carry, I am carrying more weight.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 08:31 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 519
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt55
Folks,

I had a short going to my pool motor which we traced to a section of corroded conduit near the box at the pump, but there also seems to be a problem further upstream. We spot checked possible trouble sections along the conduit and it seems fine, so potentially some crossed wires somewhere in there. I'd like to just pull the old wires thru and run new wire through the existing conduit. I understand this is never easy, but is possible and i've looked up various tips and tricks that may or may not help a bit. The other option is a new trench, but its 115 degrees in the shade in phoenix right now, so not a favorable option, although I know it may be the only answer.

My question is, given the wire has been buried for 33 years and the short downstream may have "spot welded" to the conduit (but maybe not). Is it worth even trying to pull the wires out at this point? Or should I just focus our efforts on a new trench (my friend loaned me his 17 year old son to dig the trench...but i don't want him to die of heatstroke).

So it it worth the effort to pull at this point???

Thanks
Are you sure it is conduit underground? Often conduit is just used to protect wire until it is in the trench. Then it is bare UF cable in the trench.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 08:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,211
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


You must abandon the old feed and run a new conduit system to comply with current codes, liability issues you know.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Rent a puller and Chinese finger for the run you should have no issue unless some of the conduit collapsed, which is always possible.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #12
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
You must abandon the old feed and run a new conduit system to comply with current codes, liability issues you know.
Wat????
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:44 PM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


I'm assuming Rigid conduit....if so, it 'should' not have leaked if installed right.

I think curious has a good point...it could be just conduit going into the ground and then UF cable....easy to find out....start digging.

If it is conduit....well...try pulling the wires out...if they come out....great...run new THWN.....after you look at the point of failure....you want to make sure something mechanical didn't cause the short.

If the wire does not come out....trench time....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:34 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Yeah, an umbrella and beer do not cure 115 degrees. I almost passed out digging a couple days ago.
matt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:35 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Pull old wires through 120' foot conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
Are you sure it is conduit underground? Often conduit is just used to protect wire until it is in the trench. Then it is bare UF cable in the trench.
Definitely conduit the whole way. I spot checked with some digs along the line. It to a pool so I think it is required to be in pipe anyway.

matt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire in conduit trekketoo Electrical 19 04-24-2012 05:38 PM
Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel brgmgb Electrical 7 09-29-2011 09:10 PM
Unintended kitchen remodel Itsdanf Project Showcase 191 06-14-2010 11:23 AM
Wire passing through a J-box in a Conduit run theatretch85 Electrical 4 05-22-2010 03:56 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.