Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 07:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


My new meter/main service panel has no ground bar only a neutral bar. I have been told that since it is the main (only) panel that this is fine. Does this mean that ALL ground and neutral wires to ALL circuits AND my ground rod should be connected to this neutral bar? Just doesn't seem right to me. I know that I can get/install a ground bar kit but it would be bonded to the neutral right? kinda seems redundant. I understand electricity but this is my first panel upgrade. any GOOD advice is appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel-ground-1.jpg  


Last edited by socalsteve72; 03-21-2012 at 07:40 PM. Reason: add picture
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,794
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


That is true for the first disconnect point, in this case your main panel.

You may have to put another ground bar just for the extra space.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 03-21-2012 at 07:52 PM. Reason: spelling.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-21-2012)
Old 03-21-2012, 07:46 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You may have to but another ground bar just for the extra space.
Good point jb. Also remember, you can't double-up neutrals under one screw. You usually can with the grounds. Check the panels label for that info.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Main panel or not I prefer my neutrals and grounds on separate bars.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Here's the reason it seems so weird to me, what is the difference to bonding neutral & ground screws on an outlet, and doing it at the meter?
Just trying to understand...........
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:14 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72 View Post
Here's the reason it seems so weird to me, what is the difference to bonding neutral & ground screws on an outlet, and doing it at the meter?
Just trying to understand...........
Ground should never carry any current.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Ground should never carry any current.
neutral should not carry current either, esp. when bonded to ground....?
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:19 PM   #8
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


neutral wires do carry current, back to the transformer.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-21-2012), plummen (03-21-2012)
Old 03-21-2012, 08:20 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,794
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsteve72 View Post
neutral should not carry current either, esp. when bonded to ground....?
Neutrals do carry current!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
plummen (03-21-2012), rjniles (03-21-2012)
Old 03-21-2012, 08:48 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


I'm sorry, I can't take it. There are certain things a homeowner can do on his own when it comes to electrical work, but replacing a main panel is not one of them.

How did you cut power to the old panel? How are you going to get it hooked back up? Is the service rated for 200 Amps? Most of the time (around here in WI) you will need a permit for the power company to make permanent connections. Around here, the only people that can pull permits for electrical are master electricians with the backing of a licensed and insured electrical contractor.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-21-2012)
Old 03-21-2012, 08:53 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm sorry, I can't take it. There are certain things a homeowner can do on his own when it comes to electrical work, but replacing a main panel is not one of them.

How did you cut power to the old panel? How are you going to get it hooked back up? Is the service rated for 200 Amps? Most of the time (around here in WI) you will need a permit for the power company to make permanent connections. Around here, the only people that can pull permits for electrical are master electricians with the backing of a licensed and insured electrical contractor.


Not all areas require that and after inspection the power company will come out and connect the new service and install a meter.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 09:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
neutral wires do carry current, back to the transformer.
First off. I do understand the theory (ac power) and am certified in DC electrical (vehicles) and have a broad construction knowledge 20+ years. so running wiring , determining loads, proper connections ect. is actually pretty basic.
I am a homeowner that is upgrading my own service (as allowed) and DID pull proper permits and WILL pass inspection. HOWEVER I am just trying to wrap my head around the fact that current is able to go back to the transformer, on the neutral bar, while being bonded to ground. Understand?
socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 09:42 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Are you installing/replacing the main grounding system?
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 10:00 PM   #14
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


The neutral conductor is providing the 'return' path back to the transformer. Bonding the neutral to the 'ground' at the main does a fews things. The grounds of the branch circuits and feeders that are fed by the main now have a path back to the transformer also. This will make overcurrent devices operate if there is a ground fault. Bonding the neutral conductor to the grounding electrodes via the grounding electrode conductor(s) will help stabilize the system voltage, and help protect the system from high voltage surges, like lightning.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 10:20 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Properly wiring my new 200a meter/panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Are you installing/replacing the main grounding system?
Installing all new ground system ( ground rod and cold water bond) and panel upgrade/relocation

socalsteve72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.