Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 10:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

proper wire gauges


I am trying to install an extra outlet receptacle in a bedroom. I intend to wire from a receptacle at the end of the line and add a receptacle on the adjacent wall. When i opened the outlet, I noticed 14g wiring but when I went to kill the power, the outlet is on a 20 amp circuit. I thought it should be 12g on a 20 amp circuit. If so, how dangerous is this? If it is OK, should I use 12g on the new outlet or stay with the same 14g?

The Pave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 10:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

proper wire gauges


To make it safe change the breaker to a 15amp or change the 14ga wire to all 12ga. You should not mix 14ga and 12ga on the same circuit. I am sure someone else will ad to this and or say if I am wrong!

Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hardway For This Useful Post:
The Pave (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,722
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pave View Post
I am trying to install an extra outlet receptacle in a bedroom. I intend to wire from a receptacle at the end of the line and add a receptacle on the adjacent wall. When i opened the outlet, I noticed 14g wiring but when I went to kill the power, the outlet is on a 20 amp circuit. I thought it should be 12g on a 20 amp circuit. If so, how dangerous is this? If it is OK, should I use 12g on the new outlet or stay with the same 14g?
change the breaker to 15 amps, use 14 AWG for your new receptacle.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
micromind (12-09-2012), plummen (12-09-2012), TTW (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 12:49 PM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

proper wire gauges


It's ok to mix 12 and 14 gauge as long as the circuit breaker is 15 amps, the breaker needs to be sized for the smallest conductor.

Also, the wire in the panel should be labeled 15 amp circuit only.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TTW For This Useful Post:
k_buz (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 06:29 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
It's ok to mix 12 and 14 gauge as long as the circuit breaker is 15 amps, the breaker needs to be sized for the smallest conductor.

Also, the wire in the panel should be labeled 15 amp circuit only.
And you've gotten an electrical inspector to pass mixing 14/2 and 12/2 on a circuit?
Only time I ever mix wire sizes is on whips to terminate lighting
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:42 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Only time I ever mix wire sizes is on whips to terminate lighting
Care to cite the code that would allow this?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:50 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

proper wire gauges


What do you use for whips when installing light fixtures?
I don't have code numbers memorized in my head like I used to but how about these 2?
410.117c and 240.5(B)(2)
those might have been revised ,but theyre the 2 that come to mind
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn

Last edited by plummen; 12-09-2012 at 06:59 PM.
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:04 PM   #8
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

proper wire gauges


lets see if this works
Attached Images
 
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 07:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
It's ok to mix 12 and 14 gauge as long as the circuit breaker is 15 amps, the breaker needs to be sized for the smallest conductor.

NO, it's not.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
Hardway (12-09-2012), plummen (12-09-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 08:15 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
NO, it's not.
Sure it is. It's not common practice, nor should it be, but it is perfectly legal.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Pudge565 (12-10-2012), TTW (12-10-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 08:20 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,889
Default

proper wire gauges


When/where is it legal?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:25 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

proper wire gauges


As long as the circuit is fused for the smallest conductor, it is legal.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (12-10-2012), Pudge565 (12-10-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 08:30 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
NO, it's not.
I don't a lot, but I know mixing wire gage is not allowed! Thanks Missouri Bound:-)
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:33 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

proper wire gauges


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
I don't a lot, but I know mixing wire gage is not allowed! Thanks Missouri Bound:-)
Then you are mistaken as well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Pudge565 (12-10-2012)
Old 12-09-2012, 08:35 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

proper wire gauges


Here's a perfect example...parking lot lights often leave the panel as 10's or even 8's, then half-way thru the circuit change to a smaller size wire. They might start out as 8's and end as 12's.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (12-10-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to protect wire ryan50hrl Electrical 41 08-23-2012 07:41 AM
Proper conduit for running wire in garage? mrrr0809 Electrical 5 08-05-2012 04:55 PM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
Mixed Wire Gauges off of a 20A Circuit jfhanson4 Electrical 4 04-20-2011 06:46 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.