Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 11:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Proper way to terminate unused wire


I have an baseboard heater that I want to remove from a room. The wire appears to come from a box that feeds multiple heaters in the room. I think the wire is stapled in places I cannot reach (and I might decide to put in a new heater in the future); so I want to safely leave it in place.

The heater that I want to remove is the only heater fed by this wire (the other two heaters are fed by the other branch from the original box.

The wire will have power when the other heaters are in use. I'm thinking the best way it to add a new plastic box in the wall to put the wire in (capped and taped). Is this the right approach and is there a minimum height from the floor that the box needs to be?

Thanks in advance!

cplbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 11:30 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Proper way to terminate unused wire


Taped is not necessary.
I place new boxes at the same height as the old boxes.
Put the cove on and be done.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 11:50 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Proper way to terminate unused wire


Thanks jbfan!

So just to be certain - it's ok to put cap the ends and leave them in a box even though they're still receiving power?
cplbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 02:35 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Proper way to terminate unused wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by cplbs View Post
Thanks jbfan!

So just to be certain - it's ok to put cap the ends and leave them in a box even though they're still receiving power?
Yes.
If it makes you feel better, remove the connection from the other end.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 02:59 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Proper way to terminate unused wire


Putting live wires in an accessible covered box is the ONLY way to properly terminate them.
If you disconnect the cable at the other end so the wires are no longer live you can do whatever you want with them.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper conduit for running wire in garage? mrrr0809 Electrical 5 08-05-2012 04:55 PM
Honeywell vision pro, fan always on? and True Steam problem c5sb HVAC 6 06-19-2012 09:08 PM
Box fill and wire nuts zephed666 Electrical 7 05-02-2011 12:51 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.